1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Norton 360 (disk) won't initialize

Discussion in 'General Security' started by steve250, Nov 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. steve250

    steve250 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    I have been using N 360 Ver 4 during 2011. I purchased Version 5 on a retail disk and tried to install it without uninstalling Ver 4.
    My system stalls on the Initialize screen yet my computer indicates I now have Ver 5 installed. N360 is still counting down my Version 4.0 subscription (5 days remaining( and I need to enter the new product code. The store clerk claimed I didn't need to uninstall the old version. Do I have to
    wait until the subscription expires to do the install and enter the code? Would appreciate any help.

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2The store clerk
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5450 @ 1.66GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 13
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 2038 Mb
    Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family, 2 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 189280 MB, Free - 148437 MB;
    Motherboard: Intel Corporation, SANTA ROSA CRB
    Antivirus: Norton 360, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    According to Norton's FAQ site, it says the following in regards to removing an older product before installing a new version:

    The best way of installing any Norton product, including Norton 360, is to uninstall any antivirus programs that are installed, and then to install the latest version of Norton 360.

    In regards to having a version that is close to expire and then purchasing a new version (but still showing the old activation in effect) it said:

    The best option is to let the old subscription expire and then to enter the new Norton 360 activation key.
     
  3. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Was this ever resolved? :)
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1027822

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice