norton antivirus dll problem linked with roxio dll problem. really wierd problem.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mikeyaj

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
26
i load up my machine as per usual and norton antivirus cannot load up at startup because it says i have a corrupted or missing ccimscan.dll and defalert.dll.

norton seems to be ****ed up and symantec webapage has no solution, which also has coincided with my roxio cd buring version 5 basic. roxio doesn't load up at all, and also in windows media player 9, i cannot burn cd's as it says the roxio burining engine is not there and or the directcdbf.dll is missing.

i performed scandisk and all that shite and on that programme in windows where it tells you if you need to replace files ( can't remember its name). anyway the files that are corrupted are uneng.exe (which i found out is the roxio burn engine unistall programme???) and the tntlvr.dll is corrupted too. don't know what this tnt thing is but i am assuming its my tnt2 graphics card???, but it isnt showing any problems.

i have adaware and regulary use it, and hijack this only workd using the old version so i will post the log file thing here. i am totally confussed as all this happened out of the blue the other day. thanks in adavance. please help me:(

Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
Scan saved at 18:57:24, on 05/09/06
Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WINMODEM.101\wmexe.exe
c:\windows\SYSTEM\KB891711\KB891711.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KB918547\KB918547.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCEVTMGR.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\ALCATEL\SPEEDTOUCH USB\DRAGDIAG.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\REAL\UPDATE_OB\REALSCHED.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG FREE\AVGCC.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG FREE\AVGEMC.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG FREE\AVGAMSVR.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCAPP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\MICROSOFT SHARED\WORKS SHARED\WKCALREM.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\HIJACK THIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://edit.europe.yahoo.com/config/login?.intl=uk&.partner=bt-1&.done=http://bt.yahoo.com/mail
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] c:\windows\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AtiQiPcl] AtiQiPcl.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SpeedTouch USB Diagnostics] "C:\Program Files\Alcatel\SpeedTouch USB\Dragdiag.exe" /icon
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CriticalUpdate] c:\windows\SYSTEM\wucrtupd.exe -startup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVGFRE~1\AVGCC.EXE /STARTUP
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_EMC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVGFRE~1\AVGEMC.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_AMSVR] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVGFRE~1\AVGAMSVR.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NAV CfgWiz] c:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\CFGWIZ.EXE /R
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "c:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccRegVfy] "c:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [winmodem] WINMODEM.101\wmexe.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [KB891711] c:\windows\SYSTEM\KB891711\KB891711.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [KB918547] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KB918547\KB918547.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ccEvtMgr] "c:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ScriptBlocking] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
O4 - Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
O4 - Startup: Microsoft Works Calendar Reminders.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Works Shared\wkcalrem.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console (HKLM)
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?38712.4548958333
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: {56336BCB-3D8A-11D6-A00B-0050DA18DE71} - http://software-dl.real.com/273f22a54c54fc64ce23/netzip/RdxIE601.cab
 

mikeyaj

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
26
oh and i forgot to mention that my pc is a windows98se running with a athlon 600mhz.

in translation, its surely time for a new pc.

please help me
 

mikeyaj

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
26
that did not help. i followed the instructions for removal in windows 98 but nothing there was needed to be deleted. seriously i must be an idiot. tell me what to do as if your talking to a 4 year old. please help.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
49,014
Watch the language!!!!!!!!!!!!


Your log is very old version of HiJact

Click here to download HJTsetup.exe:

http://www.thespykiller.co.uk/forum/index.php?action=tpmod;dl=item5
Scroll down to the download section

Save HJTsetup.exe to your desktop.

Double click on the HJTsetup.exe icon on your desktop.
By default it will install to C:\Program Files\Hijack This.
Continue to click Next in the setup dialogue boxes until you get to the Select Addition Tasks dialogue.
Put a check by Create a desktop icon then click Next again.
Continue to follow the rest of the prompts from there.
At the final dialogue box click Finish and it will launch Hijack This.
Click on the Do a system scan and save a log file button. It will scan and then ask you to save the log.
Click Save to save the log file and then the log will open in notepad.
Click on "Edit > Select All" then click on "Edit > Copy" to copy the entire contents of the log.
Come back here to this thread and Paste the log in your next reply.
DO NOT have Hijack This fix anything yet. Most of what it finds will be harmless or even required.
================================

Why worry about Norton - you have AVG and only active AV should be on a system
=======================
Remove Norton via add remove porgrams and if that does not get it

http://service1.symantec.com/support/nav.nsf/docid/2001092114452606
 

mikeyaj

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
26
i downloaded the new version of hijack this and installed it, however it does not work. i just get a "unexpected error" when it tries to start.

the reason i have avg free version is coz i don't want to use the internet without protection while norton is down. i will be removing avg as soon as norton is working. avg is just as useless as norton for finding virus'.

how does this all relate to this roxio problem i have.

my language is english????????
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
49,014
the cursing is not appreciated

AVG is better than Norton

Reinstll Norton and Raxio
 

mikeyaj

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
26
the swearing wasn't meant to offend and i didn't swear at anyone?

oh well i won't swear. i never realised it offended people:)

ive already reimnstalled each program at least 10 times each and has never solved the problem. that is why i'm here. ive used adaware, avg, spybot search and destroy a billion times over. and still nothing has solved it. this website is my last resort before i throw my pc away or burn it.:mad:

i don't want to reinstall my system completely as i need to back up my data and roxio isnt working to do this and other programs free off the net wont work. nero wont work either.:(
 

mikeyaj

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
26
also. if avg is so good why can't it find any viruses. i expect norton to be rubbish but it at least sometimes workd. avg never finds anything.
 

mikeyaj

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
26
and also, why doesn't hijackthis ever work for me past the version v1.97.7?
 

mikeyaj

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
26
please don't say my problems have left you all at a loss for ideas. surely somebody can help.

i should be more patient but ive been researching this problme for days on the net and i am sooooooo fed up.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
49,014
You've got a real attitude!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Drop the attitude and you may get some help

Do be naive and think people like cursing on public forums

You are making a lot of assumptions that we know what you have done

"unexpected error" is not the full message - need that

Try the link I gave you for uninstalling Norton and then try installing

Now take some time and clearly explain the details of the problems
 

mikeyaj

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
26
i think you have misunderstood. i'm not having a go at you.

i have already uninstalled norton using the add remove function numerous times and have also unistalled it numerous time using that special remove programme from the website.

norton tries to load at startup, and tells me those dll's are missing or corrupted. they are not missing so they must be broke?

hijack this doesnt start, it just get a small error message saying "unexpected error". no more, no less. that is all hijack this said. old hijack version wors fine though.

my roxio burining program doesn't load up at all. i just opens up but the menu seems corrupted and parts invisable so i cannot copy. also the roxi burn engine that comes as part of windows media player 9 seems to not work at all. media player says it cannot find it. it was fine a few days ago.

sorry about the swearing, where i come from swearing is just words and not an issue at all. and also on the other forums i use it is not an issue. i just assumed this was a adult forum. sorry, i will tone the language down.
 

mikeyaj

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
26
oh well. gues nobody here can help yet.

anyone know any other forums that can help?
 

pugmug

Banned
Joined
Jun 13, 2005
Messages
2,857
Can=yes,will=say pretty please nicely and then maybe if the people here feel like it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top