1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Norton Auto-protect

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Karandras, Feb 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Karandras

Karandras Thread Starter

Hi, I've had a quick look and couldn't find any more threads for this situation so thought I'd ask, I've got great help here in the past.

I've had Norton Internet Security 2007 installed for a while and everything was fine, but now the Auto-Protect feature seems to be permanantly turned off. Just under the address field in I.E. it displays a red bar which is usually green, and the words "Browsing not safe: Auto-protect turned off.

Although I'm no expert I'm not a total nub when it comes to PC's and the software workings but I've found no solution for this. I've been into the options to turn on auto protect.

Norton Internet Security - Settings - under basic security you've got Auto-Protect but it always either displays error or off in red and sometimes even displays on in green. So obviously I click that, click 'turn on' and if it previously said off, nothing happens, sometimes it changes to 'on' and I click ok, but the problem persists and when I go back into the settings it instantly sets back to 'off'. If it previously said error the live update pops up and I run that time and time again, sometimes there's an extra item or two in there that needs to be updated (Which I do) but most of the time it's blank, obviously I leave time between running these. And after it's updated... nothing has changed.