1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Norton Firewall says "permit" but I think it may be wrong

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by mandy123, Sep 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mandy123

    mandy123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Just so you know, I told Norton to "permit" it b/c I got tired of telling it to block it and b/c noone gave me any specific advice as to what to do. I don't think any damage has occurred as a result of "permitting" it, however, I am convinced that my pc is acting slower than it used to.
     
  2. marie500

    marie500

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    829
    Wait!..hold on!!...Svchost.exe is Norton?? Is that what you're saying? Is Generic Host Process Win32 Services also Norton?? Is NORTON doing this? What is it doing? I don't know why I need those things, I didn't even know I had them, don't know what they are, what it is, what they do, what we're all even talking about!!!
     
  3. BillC

    BillC

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,366
    No, svchost is not Norton, but Norton could use svchost.exe. Here is what Microsoft says about svchost;
    Thus,there are usually several applications needing/using svchost.exe all at once. Norton could be one of them.
     
  4. marie500

    marie500

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    829
    Oh, when Brindle mentioned Norton (and didn't seem real happy about it!), I thought that's what he meant. A question I hate to even pose - - could a malicious trojan be gaining access this way? What else besides Norton might be doing things with this?
     
  5. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,791
    Also I keep the " Windows Scripting Host " disabled on my PC.

    How to disable or remove the Windows Scripting Host
    http://www.sarc.com/avcenter/venc/data/win.script.hosting.html

    I got the " Noscript.exe " that you can get from the link above.

    There are other ways to turn it off also so read the link above.
    I never had ither ways in the pass so used Noscript.exe but after getting windows IE 4 or 5 and later 98 I seen the options in add/remove but also seen it get recheck after getting updates for IE so like to keep the Noscript.exe.
     
  6. NiteHawk

    NiteHawk

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,699
    This should help to cut down a little of that traffic and get rid of a pain in the a$$ at the same time.

    To remove Microsoft messenger Service....the source of a lot of annoying pop-ups and SPAM, do the following:

    1. Click Start->Control Panel
    2. For Category View only (skip this step for Classic View), click Performance and Maintenance
    3. Click Administrative Tools
    4. Double-click Services
    5. Scroll down and highlight "Messenger"
    6. Right-click the highlighted line and choose Properties
    7. Click the STOP button.
    8. Select Disabled or Manual on the Startup Type drop-down menu
    9. Click OK
     
  7. mandy123

    mandy123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    NiteHawk: If Microsoft Messenger Service is deactivated, will I still receive notification that new security patches are avaialbe for download?
     
  8. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    yes

    Microsoft do not use the messenger service to send information to anyone
     
  9. Darlene C

    Darlene C

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Hi,
    I ask about this very same thing about a Month ago when the svcHost exe. virus was going around and was advised by this forum not to let it in. My Norton firewall was telling me (permit recommended), I permitted it once or twice but I had the patch that the virus was trying to exploit, I don't remember if it was 823980 or what, anyway it was going off every 10 min. That is why I figured something was wrong. I checked the IP and did the visual tracking and they were coming from GuangDong Province, China..a couple of States in the USA and it just smelled fishy. I did not let it in after that and because I was advised not to let it in. After a couple of days of it going off I checked not to ask again. Finally peace..I found where to un-check in my Norton Firewall and tried it again a couple weeks later, within 10 min. it started going off again and they were still coming from China. I asked on this forum "could it be Microsoft in China? could it be a driver update or something important? Well it is still blocked and my computer is running fine I hope I did the correct thing. Why would Microsoft or something important be pestering me every 10 min. It never did that before. This started exactly when the Blaster Worm started. If it should be turned back on let me know.
    Darlene
     
  10. mandy123

    mandy123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    I have told Norton to permit it. How do I now tell Norton to block it?
     
  11. Darlene C

    Darlene C

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Mandy,
    I am not an expert at this computer stuff, I am self taught and come here often when I have a problem. They have helped me many times. The next time the firewall image goes off there is a check box on the bottom left with something like "do not show this again" I am not sure of the wording because mine has not gone off in quite a while. If you check it you will not see that particular message again from svcHost exe. To permit it again, bring up Norton Firewall System status OK where it tells you what is on, the second one down Personal Firewall click on the word, a blue box will come up on the right side , click on configure, another new box will come up with tabs on the top (I never knew it was there before this came up) click on Program Control, you will see a list of things it lets in or are blocked. If you want to unblock you will see Microsoft Generic Host Process for Win 32, it should have "block all" if you checked it. Click on that and you will get tabs on the bottom that let you Add, Modify, or Remove, mine is still blocked and I hope it is the correct thing. My computer is running OK, (fingers crossed) with it blocked, and it has been at least a Month. The exact message I was receiving when my Norton Firewall was going off is this, (I wrote it down word for word so I could post it here and I still have it.) "A Remote System is attempting to access Microsoft Generic Host Process for Win 32 Services on your computer C\Windows\System 32\SvcHost.exe UDP inbound 64.156.39.12 doom 666 All Local Adapters 1026. The IP number above would change and they would be coming from China, Colorado, and a few other States. All with the same Message. I still wonder if I did the correct thing but I update my Virus definitions daily, run Spybot and SpywareBlaster a couple times a week, run the Virus Scan weekly and so far every thing is clean. Good Luck.
    Darlene
     
  12. Darlene C

    Darlene C

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Mandy,
    I might have made a mistake about the box in the lower left corner of the Norton Firewall Alert, mine just went off and there wasn't one there (It's been so long) I think I just selected block.
    Darlene
     
  13. DeniseNelson

    DeniseNelson

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Just wanted to bump this post up because I'm having the same problem. Can someone help?

    Thanks,
    Denise
     
  14. Darlene C

    Darlene C

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Denise,
    Do you have Norton's Firewall? If you do just follow the directions that I gave Mandy. If it is another Firewall someone else will have to help you because I know nothing about other firewalls. The short message I gave Mandy about a box to check , it did turn out to be there in the bottom left corner. Select block, and then put a check in there to always use this action. It can be reversed if it proves to be a problem but so far blocking it hasn't caused me any problems. So Far.... It going off every 10 min. is a real pain.
    Darlene
     
  15. DeniseNelson

    DeniseNelson

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Darlene,

    I do have Norton Internet Security. I'll try what you said. Let's keep our fingers crossed.

    Denise
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Norton Firewall says
  1. DebbyR
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    575
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/165613

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice