Norton Ghost 12 and WinXP HD clone

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Cloud2Ground

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2001
Messages
87
I used Norton Ghost 12 to clone my primary HD with WinXP Pro SP2 on it. When I try to boot from the clone, it gets all the way to where it's just about to show the users that you can choose to log on with and freezes. I have tried to clone this drive twice with no luck.
If it matters I'm copying from an IDE master to an SATA.
Thanks,
Don
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2006
Messages
118
Well this must be the answer. I think that Ghost can't clone from one hdd to another which has different interface. This opinion is based on experience with Home True Image which can't execute such an operation. But some time ago I purchased True Image Workstation with Universal restore add-on which did the job perfectly. Hope this is helpfull
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
Are you trying to boot the clone in the PC that created it? Or in another PC? If it is another PC, Windows may not run properly (if at all) because the hardware is different.
 

Cloud2Ground

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2001
Messages
87
Yes on same PC. I just want to have an SATA as my Primary. Just not havening much luck. Don't really think it's the interface due to the fact that Norton completes the clone with no errors, Win and all files are there.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Have you booted Windows XP on the PATA drive with the SATA drive connected? And are the SATA drivers loaded on the current installation of Windows? If so then you should be able to copy from the PATA to SATA drive without much fuss, I've done it before with Acronis.

By chance have you tried booting the SATA drive with the PATA drive completely unplugged from the computer?
 

Cloud2Ground

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2001
Messages
87
Triple6 said:
Have you booted Windows XP on the PATA drive with the SATA drive connected? And are the SATA drivers loaded on the current installation of Windows? If so then you should be able to copy from the PATA to SATA drive without much fuss, I've done it before with Acronis.

By chance have you tried booting the SATA drive with the PATA drive completely unplugged from the computer?
Yes I have tried to boot it as the only HDD on the system no help. I didn't look for any Win drivers. I can use the drive for storage it just wont boot Win.
What are the proper Norton options when doing a clone with your OS on it. Maybe I'm doing that wrong.
Thanks again,
Don
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
I haven't used Norton Ghost in a long time, I've now switched to Acronis TrueImage, sorry.
It would seem the clone is going OK if it gets as far as it does. Maybe try updating or reinstalling the SATA drivers and then doing another clone. If you were using it for storage then some SATA drivers must already be installed. Or run Norton Ghost's LiveUpdate to check for updates to the program.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top