1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Norton Ghost 15 versus Acronis True Image Home 2010

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by morland, Apr 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. morland

morland Thread Starter

Hi,

I am making this posting after spending a good amount of time searching on the net and on this forum. I would like to go with one of these on my Windows 7 PC (64-bit). I know there's plenty of material out there but my questions are probably very basic and one's for which I could not find the answers. Hope to get help.

1. What is the difference between cloning and imaging. I thought these were the same thing
    2. I have been using Norton Ghost on XP for about 2 years and am inclined towards it.
    3. Which one produces small images when used with full compression
    4. Which one is faster
    5. Which one is faster
    6. While searching (before making this post) i came across the term SID and the sentence that "The Paragon and Norton Ghost both have a Change SID option". What is SID and what are the benefits of SID
    7. Norton Ghost 12 allows the user to boot from a CD and restore from a saved image. I assume Norton Ghost 15 also offers this feature? Does Acronis also offer this feature?
    8. Is it true that Norton Ghost is much easier/simpler to use than Acronis?

Will be very thankful for your help/reply/guidance.

P.S
    I would like to share 2 links with forum members that I came across and while doing this little research.
    Code:
    http://disk-imaging-software-review.toptenreviews.com
    http://www.osnn.net/submitted-news/98951-norton-ghost-v15-0-acronis-true-image-rant-review-new-ghost.html

2. Mumbodog

Mumbodog