Norton Ghost 2002 Issues

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

omniflare

Thread Starter
Joined
May 13, 2004
Messages
209
I'm currently trying to get my harddrive from the source 40, to the destination 60. the source is going bad and i want to image it disk to disk to the 60 before it dies.
When i go to hit disk to disk, it lets me select the 40, but when it asks for the destination drive, the 60 isnt a selectable option. Am i missing something? What am i doing wrong?!
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2003
Messages
4,916
What format is your 60 gig drive? If the destination drive is formatted as NTFS, your version of Ghost will not be able to access it. Ghost 2003 supports NTFS partitions but earlier versions do not.


Rollin
 

omniflare

Thread Starter
Joined
May 13, 2004
Messages
209
You have got to be kidding me. The source drive is NTFS and it picks it up just fine. So it cannot do a disk to disk ghost if the destination is NTFS?
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2003
Messages
4,916
That is correct. The quote below comes directly from Symantec web site. Sorry!

Ghost's ability to save an image file directly to an NTFS partition depends on your Ghost version:

Symantec Ghost 8.0 and Norton Ghost 2003 can save image files directly to NTFS partitions.

Ghost consumer versions other than Norton Ghost 2003 cannot save image files directly to NTFS partitions. See the section "Alternative storage locations." Note that the version of Ghost included in Norton SystemWorks Professional Edition is a consumer version.

The ability of Ghost corporate versions to save an image file directly to an NTFS partition depends on whether your Ghost version supports that connection type and whether that connection type supports NTFS.

http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/ghost.nsf/docid/2000012811284125

Rollin
 

omniflare

Thread Starter
Joined
May 13, 2004
Messages
209
yea i checked that out after you wrote your first post. damn my luck. I'll see if i can score a copy of 2003 or something thatll do the job. or at least try and figure out some sort of work around.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
You can use a free drive utility from the manufacturer of one of the hard drives to clone the drive - not create an image so it will overwrite everything on the source drive.


Also Ghost 2002 can ghost/clone a NTFS drive, just not write an image to a NTFS drive. In this case you need to check that the drive is connected properly and recognised in the BIOS.
 

omniflare

Thread Starter
Joined
May 13, 2004
Messages
209
See i thought that didnt make sense. this drive is just fine, and the computer see's it and i can put anything on it i want. I got to do a disk to disk, and it SEE's the 2nd drive , but wont let me select it as the destination drive.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
If you do plan on just cloning the entire drive, ie overwritting the new drive, then download and run the hard drive manufacturer's utilities.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top