1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Norton Ghost Boot disk

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Damsel, Jan 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hoayfern

    hoayfern

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Hi DVOM,

    I followed ur instructions below to create a GHOST 2002 BOOT CD:

    I've got a Ghost boot floppy burned to a CD.

    First make the Ghost boot floppy, then using Nero or other burn software choose to make a bootable data CD. It'll tell you to put your boot floppy in the drive. Put the Ghost floppy in. You don't need to put any other data on the CD.

    Then burn it. No files will show on the final CD in windows explorer so don't worry about that.

    Works great.

    when i boot up the laptop and boot from CD, it cant boot the GHOST BOOT DISK.

    Please assist

    Hoay Fern
     
  2. hoayfern

    hoayfern

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    I followed below instructions when i boot up the laptop and boot from CD, it cant boot the GHOST BOOT DISK and funny characters appear

    First make the Ghost boot floppy, then using Nero or other burn software choose to make a bootable data CD. It'll tell you to put your boot floppy in the drive. Put the Ghost floppy in. You don't need to put any other data on the CD.

    Then burn it. No files will show on the final CD in windows explorer so don't worry about that.
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    hoayfern, you're missing a key point. :rolleyes: GHOST 2003 doesn't fit on one floppy, you need to insert the second one with the actual GHOST application on it after PC-DOS boots. Since the bootable CD capability of Nero using a floppy can't handle multiple floppies, you need to do something a bit trickier. See my earlier post.
     
  4. DVOM

    DVOM

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,710
    johnwill, what option are you using in the Ghost Boot Wizard? I use the first option "Standard Ghost Boot Disk". It creates a single disk.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    You know, I always put at least the CD drivers on it, that's probably why it pushes me over the edge. I just fired up GHOST 2003 and did the plain disk, and it's only using one floppy. Learn something every day. :D
     
  6. rpr2002us

    rpr2002us

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Using Norton Ghost 2003,, created a Ghost Boot floppy disk using the Standard Boot disk option with PCDOS. Then created a bootable disk with Norton Ghost by choosing the option backing up the image to the DVD Recordable media on a DVD-r media using my Liteon DVD Burner and inserted the boot disk when it was asked. The whole process went through fine.

    The problem is when I boot with this CD, I get the following error message.

    Write protect error on Drive A: Abort, Retry, Fail.

    Ghost comes up without the mouse drivers being loaded, thought when I list the directory, the mouse drivers are present. When i type in mouse.com at the command prompt, I still get that error.

    Any help what I am missing here????

    Thanks,

    NCRR
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    The mouse drivers are trying to write their INI file onto the CD, which they obviously can't do. I think you should be able to tinker with the AUTOEXEC.BAT and change to a different generic mouse driver to solve this issue.
     
  8. rpr2002us

    rpr2002us

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    johnwill

    Thanks for pointing me in the right direction. I used the Cutemouse driver Version 1.9 from http://cutemouse.sourceforge.net/ and that resolved this problem.

    I think anybody trying to make bootable cd-roms with Ghost should use this mouse driver.

    NCRR
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Thanks for finding a free mouse driver, I'll grab that one too. :)
     
  10. Air_Force

    Air_Force

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    I have read all the posts concerning how to make a bootable cd-r using Nero, but whenever I try to boot from the cd I just get a bunch of random characters. I will list the steps I took just to make sure I'm not missing anything.

    1. Created a ghost boot disk
    2. Used Nero to make a bootable data cd
    3. Inserted ghost boot disk when prompted for the boot files.

    It seems a pretty straight forward but for some reason it's not working. I have made a new boot disk to ensure my problem is not coming from it being corrupt.

    We are using Ghost 7.5 and need to push this image out to 100 clients and any assistance will be appreciated.
     
  11. Air_Force

    Air_Force

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Also the Hard Drive is Serial ATA. I think this may be causing a problem, but I am researching that now.
     
  12. ebbrey

    ebbrey

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    lo guys.. having some trubble with my windows install and wanted to restore my c drive with a ghost v9 image located on a different drive (not s-ata, detectable in ghost 2003 pc-dos) Well as this reading this whole thread. Im kinda stuck. Cant make a bootable cd. Do not have old kasette drive that u guys call a floppy :p. Wouldnt it just be so easy to make a cheap img of your working bootable cd's and send out?
     
  13. bassetman

    bassetman Moderator - Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    47,973
    Welcome to TSG ebbrey! ;)

    This would go much smoother if you start your own new thread with this problem.

    Are you saying that you have an imaged HD or not?
     
  14. abledon

    abledon

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    If you are using Norton Ghost 2003 and backup directly to cd or dvd if your laptop supports it then the first restore disk automatically becomes bootable. If you need other ideas please e-mail me.
     
  15. ebbrey

    ebbrey

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    well i fixed my problem so it does not exist anymoore.. many thx for suggestions on this site.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/196874