1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Norton Ghost, Dell laptop, clone disk to another PC

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by awfergusson, Jan 27, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. awfergusson

    awfergusson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    I have a Dell Inspiron 3500 with a 6G drive to be updated to a 20G. I have Norton Ghost and have made the requisite boot disks.

    1. With a USB boot disk, Norton Ghost does not see the USB. So that won't work.

    2. With a network boot disk and installing a packet driver for the Linksys Network PC Card. (A PCMCIA), Norton Ghost doesn't recognize that either.

    Any suggestions to make a mirror of my laptop's HD on the Desktop PC?
     
  2. tronic592001

    tronic592001

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    yes im looking for advise on this myself, laptop to desktop with norton ghost 2002.

    Ive made the requested set of two boot disks one for my laptop and other for my desktop.

    ive rebooted both my laptop & desktop, the laptop seems to be waiting for my desktop to boot, but when i reboot my desktop with the boot disk i made with norton ghost it sites on the screen where its got my name and reg. number, but my mouse on the desktop is frozen every thing is frozen can even hit ctrl/alt/del.



    Ive disconected my dsl usb, and mouse usb, but no difrence on my desktop.

    Im stuck on this as norton ghost tells me in the docs that this is posable.



    :rolleyes:
     
  3. awfergusson

    awfergusson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    I tried everything. continued to have the same problem. I finally gave up and copied essential files and then reinstalled all programs on the new laptop drive. So much for the Ghost!
     
  4. iaavagent

    iaavagent

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    485
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    When I have issues, and they normally come up with laptops, I just remove the drive and use a 2.5" to 3.5" IDE adapter cable to connect it to a desktop and do the transfer there. Works every time. :)
     
  6. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    If the OS is 9x it will work in safe mode as long as you create your own shortcut to the executable.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Norton Ghost Dell
  1. theborg
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    173
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/115572

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice