Norton Ghost PE error message

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Daniel Davis

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2001
Messages
100
I just tried to clone a 15gig hard drive onto an identical hd on the same system. I left the process running (It was about 50% done when I left.) and when I got back...there was a red exclamation point on the screen and the following error message:

An internal inconsistency has been detected.
If this problem persists, please contact your local Symantec support center.

Abort: 18500 Reading beyond source partition boundary.
Isector= 3025406, isects=1, first_sect=63, numsects=16450497
Abort details output to Ghost.err. Please contact your local symantec support center


Can anyone help me find out what happened?
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Danial
Here is the formal explanation of your error from Norton and possible fixes.
Let us know how it turns out.
Click Here for Norton article.
Dave
 

Daniel Davis

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2001
Messages
100
Dave..

Well, that bulletin got me on two issues. One: I did indeed change motherboards and Two: I'm using Ghost 2000, which won't go beyond 12gigs. I have 2002..just haven't installed it yet. Maybe that will work. The whole reason I got ghost was so I wouldn't have to strip everything down and start over. May have to do that afterall.


Originally posted by Daniel Davis
I just tried to clone a 15gig hard drive onto an identical hd on the same system. I left the process running (It was about 50% done when I left.) and when I got back...there was a red exclamation point on the screen and the following error message:

An internal inconsistency has been detected.
If this problem persists, please contact your local Symantec support center.

Abort: 18500 Reading beyond source partition boundary.
Isector= 3025406, isects=1, first_sect=63, numsects=16450497
Abort details output to Ghost.err. Please contact your local symantec support center


Can anyone help me find out what happened?
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Danial
Hope you get it worked out, keep us posted on your progress and ask if you have any more questions.
Dave
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top