Norton Utilities SpeedDisk...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

SatDoug

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 4, 2000
Messages
52
Good Morning:
I'm running a networked Pent. 3 600/256 RAM/18 Gig HDD/Windows ME. The HDD has about 12 gig free. Whenever I try to run Norton SpeedDisk (part of the 3.01 SystemWorks software package), it hangs after getting started (I close all applications & turn off the screensaver when doing this). Sometimes while running Norton DiskDoctor, it stops for a very long time while checking the directory structure "hosts", and then continues. I don't know what this is and maybe is the reason SpeedDisk isn't working (it always has in the past; this started about 2 months ago, and I can't think of anything that was changed in that time). Maybe this directory is too large and hangs Norton? I can run Microsoft's defragmenter with no problem...it always completes the task. Could it have something to do with virtual memory being too small (I have it checked so it adjusts it automatically) Any ideas? Thank you all!
 

Max19

Account Disabled
Joined
Jul 31, 2001
Messages
1,222
I'm not familiar with Norton SystemWorks version 3.01. Does it specifically say it works with Windows ME?
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,475
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
57,794
Go to add/remove and pick Norton SystemWorks and click uninstall. It will bring up a window ask if you want to uninstall, install and think reinstall.
 

Max19

Account Disabled
Joined
Jul 31, 2001
Messages
1,222
You really shouldn't reinstall software that is incompatible with your operating system. Remove it, and purchase an upgraded version meant to run on Windows ME.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
57,794
Max19,

Thanks
That may just be so with the way ME and now XP works.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top