Norton

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mick1364

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
25
Hello
I am assuming I have put this thread in the correct section. I am assuming it is a problem with Norton Internet Security. I don't know when the problem actually began but I restarted my computer recently and while rebooying there is a box comes up to say UrlLstCK.exe - unable to locate component. Inside the box is the message This application has failed to start because NISRES.DLL was not found re-installing the application may fix the problem. I did a search of my computer and NISRES.DLL is there in the Internet Security folder but I cannot find UrlLstCK anywhere. I can find it on the insatallation files for the program but I'm not sure where it should be on my computer. I have tried unninstalling and re-installing the program but the problem still persists. When I unninstalled Internet Security and rebooted my computer the box still came up when the program was unninstalled. HELP!
mick1364
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,286
Maybe you've picked up a bug that doesn't want Norton installed or running.

If that happened to me, I'd run Ewido and a few online scans before trying to re-install again.
Here's what I'd try ...

Online scans - -
Symantec …..
http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/home.asp?langid=ie&venid=sym&plfid=23&pkj=HSHXXLPXHJRZDTVSAGA

Kaspersky …..
http://www.kaspersky.com/virusscanner
choose extended database for the scan!

Panda ActiveScan ….
http://www.pandasoftware.com/products/activescan.htm


Download the trial version of Ewido Security Suite http://www.ewido.net/en/download/ (W2K/XP Only)
• Install ewido.
• During the installation, under "Additional Options" uncheck "Install background guard" and "Install scan via context menu".
• Launch ewido
• It will prompt you to update click the OK button and it will go to the main screen
• On the left side of the main screen click update
• Click on Start and let it update.
• DO NOT run a scan yet. You will do that later in safe mode.

Restart your computer into safe mode now. Perform the following steps in safe mode:
(Start tapping F8 at the first black screen after power up)

Run Ewido:
• Click on scanner
• Click Complete System Scan and the scan will begin.
• During the scan it will prompt you to clean files, click OK
• When the scan is finished, look at the bottom of the screen and click the Save report button.
• Save the report to your C: Drive
This will take some time to run!
Boot to normal mode
 

mick1364

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
25
I unninstalled all symantec products on my computer the used reg cleaner to clear out the registry. When I rebooted my computer the box still popped up. I've started to reinstall the products before I've seen your reply, I didn't want to go online without any protection. I'll still try the other scanners and get back to you. Does anyone here here the hijackthis.log files?
mick1364
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,286
You can go online to the sites listed without protection.
The HJT wizards like to have Ewido run first.
I was giving you a HJT head start .. with their instructions.
I left out the last line ... run a new HJT log.
 

mick1364

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
25
I'm half way through Kaspersky and according to the scan I have 20 virus's 277 Infected Objects and 2 Suspicious Objects. I cannot believe I have this many problems.
mick1364
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,286
Sounds like you haven't cleaned your computer in a while.
I'd bet many of the 277 reports are just plain trash.
I alway run CCleaner before scanning for anything.
http://www.ccleaner.com/

This way if something shows up in the scans - It's more likely to be something that needs attention.
 

mick1364

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
25
Should I let the virus scan complete or should I just run a hijackthis?
mick1364
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,286
Yes - let it run.
I'd clean as much as possible before the HJT.
Should make a HJT wizards life easier.
 

mick1364

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
25
Surely there can't be 20 virus's on my computer, I keep my norton up to date and I have anti-spy and anti trojan software installed.
mick1364
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,286
Probably not.

Do you have a firewall ... and are you on a high speed connection ?
Do you have an external hard drive ?
 

mick1364

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
25
Yes I have a firewall, it is part of the Norton Internet Security. I have a broadband connection. No I don't have an external drive but I do have 2 hard drives.
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,286
Is the second HD installed ?
 

mick1364

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
25
Yes, I have accidentally closed the virus scan before it was finished. I've gone to ccleaner.com and ran the registry mechanic. It says it has found 576 problems?
mick1364
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,286
Can you post a screen shot of your Disc Management screen ?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top