1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

not able to get into Windows 95

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by klynne1018, Feb 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. klynne1018

    klynne1018 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    :( I have a gateway 2000 computer. when I go to startit up I as far as it telling me that Floppy:Installed and then get the message NTLDR is missing. can someone tell me what this is and how do I go further. If I ctrl,alt, delt it will start over and go as far as the Windows 95 screen and stop. WHat can I do to fix this problem. The computer is a used one I purchased so I am not sure exactly what was removed.
     
  2. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
    [tsg=welcome][/tsg]

    I'm guessing that you have a floppy in the drive when you are booting the computer?? If so remove the floppy and try it.
     
  3. klynne1018

    klynne1018 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    I have tried to down load a floppy but it is not working and so now I am stuck at what else to do. Do I need to get a start up floppy from the computer store or is there a way to download one from here?
     
  4. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
    Have you tried without using the floppy?
     
  5. klynne1018

    klynne1018 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Yes I have tried with the floppy and without it but all I get is to the message NTLDR is missing or to the Windows 95 screen. I am trying to get this new computer running because the oldone is on its last hooray!!
     
  6. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
    Ok boot with the disk in and when you get to the

    A:\>
    Type in
    dir
    and hit enter,,do you see fdisk?? You can do this more than once.
     
  7. klynne1018

    klynne1018 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    I have seen the A:/> so this is where I put in dir I will try it once again. thank you
     
  8. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
    Yes,, I just want to know if you see the word.:)
     
  9. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
    Ok print this or somthing where you can see it plainly while you do this. And nothing more.

    Leave the floppy in and boot to the A:\> and type in the word fdisk and hit enter.

    If asked to enable large disk support select yes and enter

    Select view a partition and hit enter. Select view the partition all the way till you get to a page that shows the partition information.

    Copy all the information on that page and post it here. Then hit esc.

    Form this information we can determine the next steps..

    do not select create a partition for now.
     
  10. klynne1018

    klynne1018 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    I now have screen the shows all kinds of programs but at the bottom it says that there is no dirs files Iam using my old computer to talk to you here so there is no way to print what is on the screen
     
  11. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
    Ok thats fine,, just follow the steps above and you should be ok.
     
  12. klynne1018

    klynne1018 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    now I have a screen that says FDISK and gives some options NOW WHAT??????
     
  13. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
    select view a partition
     
  14. klynne1018

    klynne1018 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    it now as me if I want to show the logical drive information do I want to hit yes
     
  15. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/118703

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice