1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

not able to login to yahoo mail

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by choudhary88, Jun 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. choudhary88

    choudhary88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    i am not able to login to yahoo mail, for the last 2 days. i can open my yahoo and the adress book, but when i click on the mail link it gives "cannot find server" mesage and then shows "page cannot be displayed". others are able to access their mail from this computer, and other sites open as usual. this is a os-xp, cable- which has no firewall, and norton shows no antivirus after scans.
    what should i do?
     
  2. raspino

    raspino

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    I had the same problem. I am now able to login. Send yahoo a mail on the help page and they will fix it I suppose!
     
  3. choudhary88

    choudhary88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    i am now able to see my mail again.
    this is weird!!
    thanks
    kc
     
  4. pwacker

    pwacker

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Like the previous poster, I experience the same problems - logging into the Yahoo address book, calendar, notepad etc. works fine. The problem arises when I try logging into Yahoo Mail Plus account where I get the error "page cannot be displayed".

    Curiously, I do not have this problem ever with my free Yahoo mail account, and other people using my computer do not have the problem either.

    The problem is for sure with the Yahoo site (as other posts on this and other forums clearly have stated). Yahoo seems to host accounts on different servers:

    http://us.f414.mail.yahoo.com -> is where my problem mail account is located
    http://us.511.mail.yahoo.com -> is where my fully working (free) mail account is.

    Anyone has any idea why one site comes up with the "page cannot be displayed" error and the other one just works fine?

    Thanks!
     
  5. southernlady

    southernlady

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,922
    What A/V are you using? Liz
     
  6. .::Mystik::.

    .::Mystik::.

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    I contacted Yahoo support a while back and was basically told this. Yahoo recently revamped their free email accounts to 100 mb...which of course just about everyone already knows...but at the same time they are revamping pretty much everything on their servers. I run a few Yahoogroups and have quite a few Yahoo email accounts, and I have had this problem off and on ever since the day they started all of their changes. According to them, it's pretty much beyond their control until all of their changes are completely finished, which will probably be never. That's good ol' Yahell fo ya. About all you can do is grin and bear it.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/241361