Not allowed to use 256 colors

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Tully

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 21, 2000
Messages
157
I just purchased the ATI TV Wonder VE and I need to run 256 colors for it to run properly. I'm only being allowed to use 32 colors. My video card is a Diamond 32MB. Would this be a reason why I'm not given the option to have 256 colors? I just installed new drivers, so that shouldn't be a problem. Any ideas?
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2003
Messages
1,647
Which is your video card? My video card is a Diamond 32MB..I just purchased the ATI TV Wonder VE. You have to remove one and install the other with new drivers for it to work properly.
 

Tully

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 21, 2000
Messages
157
So are you saying that with the video card I have, I won't be able to run 256 colors or I just need to get a driver update that will allow me to?
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
I wonder if we are mixing up colors and bits.
256 colors might be written as 8 bits. And the other hand the "32" might actually be 32 bits which is a whole lot more than 256 colors.
 

Tully

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 21, 2000
Messages
157
The Diamond 32MB video card that I have is about 4 years old (my computer is a bit out-dated). I just installed the TV Wonder VE. Does that now operate as my video card? Do I take out the old card?
 

Tully

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 21, 2000
Messages
157
My color is 32 bits, but why then does my colors get changed to 4 bits when I run the ATI TV program?
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2003
Messages
1,647
If you have installed the Wonder VE, Install the drivers that should have come with it on a cd.

Yes, you need to remove the old card.
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
I thought that this was a PCI slot card that you used with your "regular" video card?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top