Not connected - No connections are available - Win7

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pcmdusa

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
17
Network icon in TaskBar shows Red-X,
Dell Laptop has 2 NIC:
Dell Wireless 1397 WLAN Mini-Card
Marvell Yukon 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller

I can get on the Internet via wired connection ONLY if I set static address. WiFi adapter shows Disabled - though if I right click & select Enable goes through the motions and stays Disabled. F2 (& Fn F2) has no effect either.
Now here is the kicker - If I boot off of MiniXP (Hirens) both NIC work w/Dynamic settings.

I have tried everything listed in this link:
http://forums.techguy.org/networking/1014104-windows-7-not-connected-no.html
The system had Norton 360 installed but temporarily uninstalled to make sure it's not a firewall issue
All MS Security updates are installed (except BING - by choice)

Any ideas?

Tom
--------------------
ipconfig /all

C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all (static IP set to my router)

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Pic-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet
Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : A4-BA-DB-AC-EA-A0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.10.188(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.10.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 75.75.75.75
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{C4A87CE3-1D91-4366-904A-3DCAA345EBDA}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 24:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

--------------------
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Processor: Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4400 @ 2.20GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 10
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 4056 Mb
Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family, 1804 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 290204 MB, Free - 241272 MB;
Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0G848F
Antivirus: None
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
The system had Norton 360 installed but temporarily uninstalled to make sure it's not a firewall issue
did you use the removal tool

is this the only PC that wont connect ?

sounds like a dhcp issue if you have to set a fixed IP

no wireless adapter shown in the ipconfig

can you do a few things

1) lets see a device manager screen shot
2) tcp/ip reset
3) remove and re-install the wireless adapter
4) check in the bios/setup the wireless adapter is enabled - as the pc starts you should see how to get into bios/setup - by using a key - for example F2, F10 or del keys are often used

Uninstall and allow windows to re-install the adapter and Driver
I would goto device manager and right click on the adapter and uninstall/remove and then restart the PC and let windows re-detect the hardware and reinstall the driver


------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter

ReStart (reboot) the machine.

If you receive the message
The requested operation requires elevation.
Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
Access is Denied

please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Details also here
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Device Manager
Post back the results in device manager
You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

how to access device manager for different windows versions
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen, menu on the left hand side

on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

if the above does not work then -

Windows 7 or Vista
Click on the Start Orb > In the Start Search box type > device manager and then press enter
or
Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

Windows 8
If you happen to be using a keyboard with Windows 8, the quickest way to open Device Manager is via its shortcut on the Power User Menu, accessible by pressing the WINDOW and the X keys together.
If on a touch screen - have a read here http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/a/device-manager-windows-8.htm

once you are in device manager then

network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
are there any ! ? or X

post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

To post a screen shot of the active window.
1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
OR
2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
----
Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

-----
http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f136/how-to-use-windows-device-manager-655905.html

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

pcmdusa

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
17
did you use the removal tool
- Assuming you mean for Removal Tool for Norton - It did uninstall with no problems from "Programs & Features" but for you I downloaded & ran the Removal Tool (knowing Norton sometimes leaves things behind)

is this the only PC that wont connect ?
Yes

sounds like a dhcp issue if you have to set a fixed IP
Yes (static)

no wireless adapter shown in the ipconfig

can you do a few things

1) lets see a device manager screen shot
- Uploaded
2) tcp/ip reset
- ipconfig /release
- ipconfig /renew
3) remove and re-install the wireless adapter
- Done (same problem)
4) check in the bios/setup the wireless adapter is enabled - as the pc starts you should see how to get into bios/setup - by using a key - for example F2, F10 or del keys are often used

- The Inspiron KB uses F2 (tried Fn F2 also) to Enable WiFi - Has NO effect
- additionally Rt Clicking on Wireless Network Connection and Enabling the system goes thru motions of Enabling but when done still shows Diabled.

Additional info: On running Network Diagnostics errors that Diagnostic Policy Service is not running if I try to start the service I get Error 5: Access is denied.
 

Attachments

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
4) check in the bios/setup the wireless adapter is enabled - as the pc starts you should see how to get into bios/setup - by using a key - for example F2, F10 or del keys are often used

- The Inspiron KB uses F2 (tried Fn F2 also) to Enable WiFi - Has NO effect
I meant to goto the bios/setup as the PC boots up

also goto the dell site - using the service tag number on a label on the pc somewhere and re-install the driver

it may be you need to reseat the wireless adapter - often - its accessible via a panel on the bottom of the laptop - remove the battery and ac power cord - undo the panel and then remove the aerial connections and pull the card in and out a few times
and then reconnect everything back to normal
 

pcmdusa

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
17
Fisrt off, thanks ahead of time for your help (and anyone else who wants to chime in)

I meant to goto the bios/setup as the PC boots up
- Ok used F2 for setup, both Wireless & Bluetooth are Enabled as well as the Function Switch that Enable/Disable Wifi/BT is Enabled
LAN is Enabled w/PXE (also turned of PXE for testing - No Change)

also goto the dell site - using the service tag number on a label on the pc somewhere and re-install the driver
- Yes downloaded R228532 uninstalled LAN & WiFi Devices, Ran Driver Setup, installed, rebooted NO CHANGE

it may be you need to reseat the wireless adapter - often - its accessible via a panel on the bottom of the laptop - remove the battery and ac power cord - undo the panel and then remove the aerial connections and pull the card in and out a few times and then reconnect everything back to normal
- I will see if I can do this but again remember, when I boot from Hiren's MiniXP both the LAN & WiFi Devices work (with Dynamic IP settings) So the hardware does work...

Additional Notes:
I have created a 2nd Administrator Level Account - Same Issues
I have pulled HDD and attached it to another PC then ran Avast Virus Scan on the drives, Also did Bitdefender On-line Scan & Kasperski's Rescue Disk & ComboFix - No Viruses identified.

The attachment is the systray- even with LAN configured Static IP & Connected
Also a report from BrowserHawk.com is included for Firewall & Add-on Info

Microsoft did an AutoUpdate that completed no problems last night. All othere security updates have been installed (except Bing)
 

Attachments

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
- I will see if I can do this but again remember, when I boot from Hiren's MiniXP both the LAN & WiFi Devices work (with Dynamic IP settings) So the hardware does work...
ok - so not hardware

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Restore PC to an Earlier Date & Time

Go Start>>All Programs>>Accessories>>System Tools>>System Restore

  • Click in the radio button Choose a different restore point
  • Click Next
  • put a tick in Show more restore points
  • Pick a Date before this happened
  • Click Next
This should restore the PC to that time & date

you may need to use safemode to do the restore. As the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu will appear - choose safemode


windows 7
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/700-system-restore.html

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

pcmdusa

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
17

pcmdusa

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
17

pcmdusa

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
17
Just more info to add:
I changed the static settings to dynamic for the LAN card and when tring to force ipconfig /release & /renew
I get the error that RPC Services is not running but when I check SERVICES both RPC & RPC Locator are Started and Running. There is not an option to stop/restart RPC but I did stop/restart RPC Locator with no changes...

Again I feel that this points to a Services/Policy Issue - just hoping that more info helps - thanks again

I did note that while the ipconfig /release /renew did not work and ith IP address are BAD the DNS address was correct (Comcast 75.75.75.75)
 

Attachments

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
Uninstall and allow windows to re-install the adapter and Driver
I would goto device manager and right click on the adapter and uninstall/remove and then restart the PC and let windows re-detect the hardware and reinstall the driver
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Status of Services

We would like to see some status information for each of the services listed below.

To do this goto

Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

Type the following command
SERVICES.MSC

OR
Control Panel>
Administrative Tools>
Services>

then for each of the services listed below - Please post back the following status information;
If the service is set to Started or Stopped
and
If the service is set to Automatic or Manual

  • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
  • Computer Browser
  • DHCP Client
  • DNS Client
  • Network Connections
  • Network Location Awareness
  • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
  • Server
  • TCP/IP Netbios helper
  • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
  • WLAN AutoConfig (Windows 7 & Vista wireless configurations only)
  • Workstation


If any of those services are not started/running,
then right click on the service
then from the menu choose properties and now check the dependencies.

for each dependency entry - Check each of one of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running/starting.

---------
 

pcmdusa

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
17
Uninstall and allow windows to re-install the adapter and Driver
I would goto device manager and right click on the adapter and uninstall/remove and then restart the PC and let windows re-detect the hardware and reinstall the driver
------------------------------------------------------------------------
- Did the above noted that the driver dates (newer) on Dell's site were different then the driver file dates on the installed drivers (older), Forced the downloaded drivers by pointing the device manager to the DL directories and then updating. Now the Driver dates match those on Dell's website - but still did NOT solve problem...
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Status of Services

We would like to see some status information for each of the services listed below.

To do this goto

Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

Type the following command
SERVICES.MSC

OR
Control Panel>
Administrative Tools>
Services>

then for each of the services listed below - Please post back the following status information;
If the service is set to Started or Stopped
and
If the service is set to Automatic or Manual
•COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
- Started/Automatic
•Computer Browser
- Started/Manual
•DHCP Client
- STOPPED/Automatic
•DNS Client
- Started/Automatic
•Network Connections
- Started/Manual
•Network Location Awareness
- STOPPED/Automatic
•Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
- Started/Automatic
•Server
- Started/Automatic
•TCP/IP Netbios helper
- Started/Automatic
•Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
- N/A Win7 Home Prem 64Bit
•WLAN AutoConfig (Windows 7 & Vista wireless configurations only)
- STOPPED/Automatic
•Workstation
- Started/Automatic


If any of those services are not started/running,
then right click on the service
then from the menu choose properties and now check the dependencies.

for each dependency entry - Check each of one of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running/starting.


•DHCP Client
- When trying to start above service get Error 5: Access is denied.
None of the dependencies are Started - and mosted are NOT listed under services (see attachment)
- There is one service component dependent on DHCP - WinHTTP Web ProxyAuto...

•Network Location Awareness
- When Trying to start above service - Windows could not start the NetworkLocationAwareness on Local Computer. For more info, review the System Event Log (attached). If this is a non-MS service, contact vendor and refer to service-specific error code -1073741288.
- Under dependencies ALL are started except for
- NSI proxy service driver - and
- TCP/IP Protocol Driver (see attachment)
- Neither of the above are listed as a Service
- Additional note: 3 components (set to Manual) are dependent on NLA
- Network List Service/HomeGroup Provider/WWAN AutoConfig


•WLAN AutoConfig (Windows 7 & Vista wireless configurations only)
- When Trying to start above service - Error 1068: The dependency service or group failed to start.
- RPC w/DCOM & End Point Mapper are listed twice but all services are started
- NativeWiFi Filter is listed as dependency - but NOT under services, same with
- NDIS Usemode I/O Protocol

- All other dependencies - Started

Good Luck hope this helps
One other peculiarity - When IE9 is opened for the 1st time the File/Edit/View menu (which is turned ON), is visable but grayed out - If I open a second tab the File/Edit/View menu works NO problem....
 

Attachments

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Services - Fabar Service Scanner, free

We would like to see some status information for each of the services on the PC goto

http://www.technibble.com/fabar-service-scanner/

and download the free scanner tool

Theres a Direct link to the program here
http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/farbar/FSS.exe

Now "double click" on the downloaded file to run the scanner , the scanner program will now open

tick all the options. and then click on scan

the scan results will open automatically in a seperate window in the notepad program.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste

if you have any issues. A log file called FSS.txt will be created in the same directory as the program is run from.

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

pcmdusa

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
17
Farbar Service Scanner Version: 23-12-2012
Ran by Piccoli (administrator) on 03-01-2013 at 16:01:09
Running from "C:\dell"
Windows 7 Home Premium Service Pack 1 (X64)
Boot Mode: Normal
****************************************************************

Internet Services:
============
Dhcp Service is not running. Checking service configuration:
The start type of Dhcp service is OK.
The ImagePath of Dhcp service is OK.
The ServiceDll of Dhcp service is OK.


Connection Status:
==============
Localhost is accessible.
LAN connected.
Google IP is accessible.
Google.com is accessible.
Yahoo IP is accessible.
Yahoo.com is accessible.


Windows Firewall:
=============

Firewall Disabled Policy:
==================


System Restore:
============

System Restore Disabled Policy:
========================


Action Center:
============

Windows Update:
============

Windows Autoupdate Disabled Policy:
============================


Windows Defender:
==============
WinDefend Service is not running. Checking service configuration:
The start type of WinDefend service is set to Demand. The default start type is Auto.
The ImagePath of WinDefend service is OK.
The ServiceDll of WinDefend service is OK.


Other Services:
==============


File Check:
========
C:\Windows\System32\nsisvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\nsiproxy.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\dhcpcore.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\afd.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\tdx.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\tcpip.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\dnsrslvr.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\mpssvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\bfe.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\mpsdrv.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\SDRSVC.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\vssvc.exe => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\wscsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\wbem\WMIsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\wuaueng.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\qmgr.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\es.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\cryptsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Program Files\Windows Defender\MpSvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\ipnathlp.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\iphlpsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\svchost.exe => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\System32\rpcss.dll => MD5 is legit


**** End of log ****
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
your welcome (y) thanks for letting us know
You can mark your own threads solved using the
button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner.
:)
 

pcmdusa

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
17
Entry #14 by PCVic has NOTHING to do with my issue - the comments are NOT a solution to my problem. I am still in need of help regarding my topic.:mad:
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top