1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Not detecting Radeon HD 4850 graphics card -- even though it has worked before.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Zip McGee, Aug 12, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Zip McGee

    Zip McGee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Hello,

    I picked up a Radeon HD 4850 graphics card (PCIE 2.0 512MB GDDR3) last fall (mostly so I could play Skyrim when it came out) and installed with no problems whatsoever. Since it all went so smoothly, I don't remember the details to compare and see if there is something I did differently back then.

    After using it for about six months, I removed it, reverting back to built-in graphics card. This is because the case I had was too small for the HD4850 and I didn't want it to be "open-faced" when I moved. Packed up the HD4850 safe and secure for the move and now it's reinstallation time, into the same computer with a new case.

    Transfer into the new case went perfectly well for the computer, then I added the HD4850. It's fully inserted, it's getting power, it's warm, the fan is running, there are no warning lights going off. It does not show up in my device manager at all, or in my BIOS setup. I've been advised to install the drivers, but when I go to install the drivers, the AMD software wants to see it first. Since it's not in device manager I can't install manually (that I know of). I've tried the DVI -> VGA cable, and also the DVI-D two-way cable with my monitor (which has both a vga and a DVI-D socket). When connected to the graphics card, my monitor does not receive anything, and goes/remains in standby mode. The vga output from the motherboard still functions fine. I've scoured online forums and the AMD support site to no avail. Can you help?

    SYSINFO
    ----
    OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium
    Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
    Other OS Description Not Available
    OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
    System Name MIDGAR
    System Manufacturer Gateway
    System Model SX2300
    System Type x64-based PC
    Processor AMD Phenom(tm) 8550 Triple-Core Processor, 2200 Mhz, 3 Core(s), 3 Logical Processor(s)
    BIOS Version/Date Phoenix Technologies, LTD P01-A2, 9/9/2009
    SMBIOS Version 2.5
    Windows Directory C:\Windows
    System Directory C:\Windows\system32
    Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume2
    Locale United States
    Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "6.1.7601.17514"

    BUILT-IN GRAPHICS
    ---
    Name NVIDIA GeForce 9200
    PNP Device ID PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_084B&SUBSYS_01571025&REV_A2\4&1211B2D&0&0058
    Adapter Type GeForce 9200, NVIDIA compatible
    Adapter Description NVIDIA GeForce 9200
    Adapter RAM 256.00 MB (268,435,456 bytes)
    Installed Drivers nvd3dumx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvd3dum,nvwgf2um,nvwgf2um
    Driver Version 8.17.12.9573
    INF File oem42.inf (Section024 section)
    Color Planes Not Available
    Color Table Entries 4294967296
    Resolution 1440 x 900 x 59 hertz
    Bits/Pixel 32
    Memory Address 0xFB000000-0xFCFFFFFF
    Memory Address 0xD8000000-0xE7FFFFFF
    Memory Address 0xE6000000-0xE7FFFFFF
    I/O Port 0x0000BC00-0x0000BC7F
    IRQ Channel IRQ 22
    I/O Port 0x000003B0-0x000003DF
    I/O Port 0x000003C0-0x000003DF
    Memory Address 0xA0000-0xBFFFF
    Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\nvlddmkm.sys (8.17.12.9573, 12.99 MB (13,624,128 bytes), 2/10/2012 12:43 AM)


    Thanks, you guys are the best :)
     
  2. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    Reseat the video card. (sometimes cleaning the contacts on the card with an eraser helps)
    Make sure the PSU is plugged into the video card.
    Recheck all cables.
    Check the bios to see if there is a setting to turn off the onboard graphics.
     
  3. Zip McGee

    Zip McGee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Hey, thanks for the reply!

    Did all those things again, with no changes.

    In the bios the closest thing I could do to turning off the onboard graphics was to disable the Nvidia choice from the boot sequence, which I did. And yet, NVIDIA GeForce 9200 still appears in the device manager as a Display Adapter and my Radeon does not (I did scan for hardware changes as well).

    Tried running AMI'sdriver utility again, but it won't give me a driver until it detects the card. Just don't know where to go next :/

    ---
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) 8550 Triple-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 16 Model 2 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 3
    RAM: 3838 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9200, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 143866 MB, Free - 12283 MB; D: Total - 143868 MB, Free - 8025 MB;
    Motherboard: Gateway, WMCP78M
    Antivirus: None
     
  4. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    What is shown in device manager for a video card, the onboard?
     
  5. Zip McGee

    Zip McGee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    NVIDIA GeForce9200. That's gotta be the onboard, since there's only one slot for a card, and Radeon's in there.

    Figured out that every time I try to uninstall it, it automatically reinstalls. I can cancel it if I catch it, but it doesn't seem to matter.
     
  6. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    Do you still have the original 250w PSU?
     
  7. Zip McGee

    Zip McGee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    I still possess it yes, but the one that is hooked up in the computer is a Dynex 520W power supply..
     
  8. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    Can you try the 4850 in another computer?
    It's possible that the PCIe slot in the mobo is bad.
    I also see that you have not antivirus???
     
  9. Zip McGee

    Zip McGee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    I'll see if my roommate will let me try it out in his computer.

    I guess I don't have antivirus. Oops! Must have neglected to install it after my last factory reset. :/
     
  10. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    A good Anti-Virus program that is Free to use and is highly recommended here is: Microsoft Security Essentials and or Avast. http://www.microsoft.com/security/pc-security/mse.aspx
    http://www.avast.com/en-us/free-antivirus-download

    The programs below will not interfere with your anti-virus program and can and should be installed and run weekly.

    http://www.malwarebytes.org/products/malwarebytes_free

    http://www.superantispyware.com/?tag=SUPERANTISPYWARE (Free edition)

    Be sure to Update each before running your scans.
     
  11. Zip McGee

    Zip McGee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks I'll install those right now. I've been running Superantispyware and Spybot S&D regularly.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1064857