1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

not enough memory for games

Discussion in 'Games' started by sueeverson, Dec 29, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sueeverson

    sueeverson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    17
    I have a pentium with 32 mb ram and windows 95. (Primitive I know, but beggars can't be choosers!)
    I tried to play a game that I have played before, but now it will not work. It said a memory error had occured.
    I uninstalled it and then tried to install it again and it said I do not have enough CONVENTIONAL memory to run the name, I need 2k in addition to what I have now.
    I get very confused about the different kinds of memory - ram, conventional, expanded, extended etc. Can you explain it very simply please for an ignoramus like me?
    Can you also suggest anything to help. I have other games that I try to play and nothing happens at all.
    Do I need a memory manager e.g. emm386, himem and how do I go about setting them up?
    Thank you very much.
     
  2. Linkmaster

    Linkmaster

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,872
  3. sueeverson

    sueeverson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    17
    Thank you - I visited the site you suggested and it was very useful. I now understand about the different types of memory and realise that the computer (unlike me) is clever enough to be able to sort it all out for itself.

    Now all I need to know is how to make sure it is all operating in the most efficient way and - more importantly - how to get these games to work ok!

    Any help greatly appreciated! xxx
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,114
    Hiya

    For the moment, lets have a look at your startup programs.

    Go to Run and type MSINFO32. If you get an error, go to Programs | Accessories | System Tools | System Information.

    On the left, choose Software Enviroment, then Startup Programs. Copy/paste the list here.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  5. sueeverson

    sueeverson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    17
    Thanx 4 your reply. Followed your instructions i.e. programs, accessories, system tools - but no system info option. have only backup, compression agent, disk defrag, drivespace, netwatcher, resource meter, scandisk and system monitor.

    By the way, I've done a defrag and tried to use drivespace to compress disk incase that helped but it says it is unable to compress disk as it is a FAT 32 drive.

    Hope u can help further.

    Sue
     
  6. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,114
    Okay

    Just realised you're on '95. Might not be there. We may have to do this manually.

    Go to Run and type MSCONFIG. Startup tab. Can you copy out all that you have running at startup, or if there is a lot, take a picture of it.

    For the picture, press Print Scrn key (above the Insert key) and then go to Paint, paste it there, save it and then send as an attachment at the bottom of your reply.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  7. sueeverson

    sueeverson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    17
    Hi again Eddie?
    I went to RUN and typed in what you said, but it said ERROR.
    Yes, I'm on '95.
    How else can I find the info you need?
    Thanks - Sue
     
  8. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    try this utility for win95,
    http://www.mlin.net/StartupCPL.shtml

    Startup Control Panel is a nifty control panel applet that allows you to easily configure which programs run when your computer starts. It's simple to use and, like all my programs, is very small and won't burden your system.
     
  9. sueeverson

    sueeverson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    17
    thanks brianf - but i could not open it after i had downloaded it. think i'll wait for more info from eddie. probably wouldn't use it much anyway - i'm only trying to get some games to work!
     
  10. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,114
    Hiya

    That looks a good program there. I'll bookmark that when I get home. It has the startup List, which will be useful.

    Sue, have you done what it said on how to Install it?

    Control Panel Applet: Run the setup program from the zip file.

    EXE Version: Just extract the executable wherever you want

    If you choose the first, it will just install the program. The second actually stores the .exe on your system. Try the first option.

    Do you have Winzip on your PC? www.winzip.com

    This may be one of the only ways to sort the programs out.

    What was the error that came up? We may be able to do it via the registry, but I'm at work at the moment, so I have restrictions.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  11. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    sorry I didn't read the whole post, what is the name and maker of the game, it will help

    If it's trying to use conventional memory it's trying to run in a dos window within win95
     
  12. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
  13. sueeverson

    sueeverson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    17
    Eddie - thank you for your reply. I will download the evaluation program of winzip and try the program which brianf recommended.

    Brianf - thank you for your reply also. I have printed out the info on how to make more conventional memory available from the site you suggested. it looks very helpful and i will read it.
    I am very apprehensive about making changes to or disabling lines in the config.sys or autoexec.bat files. I wouldn't want to do anything that stops the computer working properly.

    There are a few games and programs which will not work because - presumably - there is not enough conventional memory. The ones which give the specific error message about conventional memory are The 7th Guest & The 11th Hour (both from Virgin). Other games either do absolutely nothing, or start ok and then just stop and lock up the computer.

    I know I'll probably have to buy more memory in the end, but as I can't do that at the moment, I thought I'd try other options first!

    Thank you both for your help - I do really appreciate it.

    -Sue :)
     
  14. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    buying more memory will not help with conventional memory problems. It is limited to the first 640K of ram and cannot be changed. Older dos games used conventional memory, newer games don't.

    If your worried post the contents of the config and autoexec and let someone help you sort it out. They can be editted from dos mode so changes can be undone.
     
  15. sueeverson

    sueeverson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    17
    I downloaded the Startup Control Panel as you advised. Downloaded Winzip as suggested, but unable to get that to open the Startup Control Panel! (Am I thick?) Found I had a disk for Freezip and that worked immediately! Do you still want me to tell you what is in the startup progs?

    When I have time, I'll copy the config.sys and autoexec.bat lines and - if you don't mind - I'll let you see them. Is that ok.

    Thanks again - sue:)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63352

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice