Not even sure...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ok2sayhello

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
13
...what the problem is. Got a call at work that my PC at home had logged itself off the internet and just froze. Even the clock wasn't running. When I went home I immediately shut the system down. When it came back up it ran scandisk and all seemed to be normal. But before I could do anything I got error messages that IE and then Scandisk had caused a fault. I tried it again and the same thing happened. Before I can use the cursor to go to Help or shut the system down normally it freezes. Any suggestions????

Jane
 

pyritechips

Jim
Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jun 2, 2002
Messages
26,907
<img src="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?s=&postid=709367">
Hello Jane!

Can you tell us your computer imformation please? What brand is it, what Operating System. Also tell us if you have Anit-Virus software, and which one. And if you get any errors, please make note of them exactly and post them here.
 

Attachments

ok2sayhello

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
13
It's an IBM clone with a Windows 98 operating system and I have Norton Anti-vrus.

Jane
 

pyritechips

Jim
Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jun 2, 2002
Messages
26,907
Can you boot the computer and see if it will go into safe mode? When you first turn it on, start tapping the F8 key. When you get the startup menu, choose safe mode.

Have kep your Norton updated and have you recently done a full system scan?
 

ok2sayhello

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
13
Hi Jim,

I usually do update my Norton and I just did a scandisk and defragmented. I'm not at home now...but I will try to get it to safe mode. What do I do then???

Jane
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
Hi ok2sayhello

We just want to know if it will start up in safe mode, and if it will run ok in safe mode

By the way scandisk is not a scan for viruses

steam
 

pyritechips

Jim
Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jun 2, 2002
Messages
26,907
To explain Safe Mode:

When you computer starts, it first loads bare bones windows, then all the needed system and hardware drivers, then any software set to run at startup. When you boot into safe mode you will see that you have no sound and your display will be only 16 colour/640x480. This is because your audo and video drivers will not be loaded. You will also not be able to go online because modem drivers won't be loaded either. If in safe mode and you press ctrl+alt+del you should see only explorer displayed.

To troubleshoot we want to eliminate any drivers or software as a possible cause of your specific problem. Start in safe mode and navigate around to see if it functions properly. Also go into control panel > system > device manager and see if there are any errors indicated there.
 

ok2sayhello

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
13
Hi Jim,

The computer seems to operate okay in safe mode. I didn't get to go into the control panel as I couldn't get online with it at home and didn't see those instructions. After I got on in safe mode I shut the system down again and brought it up normally. It seemed to be okay and I went online only to get a blue screen message screen after a few minutes. The error read:

FILE NAME: VMM(01) + 00012308 ERROR OE: 0028:C00133D8

Don't know if this helps or not. If you can give me specific instuctions I will print this out before I leave work and try them at home.

Thanks,

Jane
 

pyritechips

Jim
Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jun 2, 2002
Messages
26,907
Hello again Jane:

This maybe due to a driver or software conflict.

One thing you can do is go to HERE download and run StartupList. It will generate a text files of all your software. Post it here so that we can see if there is any bad software on your system.

Got to Start > Run... and typed in msconfig. Once you are in the msconfig window, clcik the last tab called Startup. It will show you a list of things that run with Windows when it starts up. Uncheck them all. This is safe. Obviously whatever you uncheck won't run when your computer starts again but don't worry about that. This is merely to narrow down where the problem is.

If your computer runs ok, add back, ONE AT A TIME, the items you unchecked. Check ONE item and reboot, letting the computer run to see if you gat errors or freezing up. If all is well, add the next item. Continue until you get the freezups and errors again. Note what the software was that you last added and let us know!
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
Messages
2,798
Click on edit at the top of notepad click copy or select all then click open a reply window , right click hit paste! Steppinstone
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top