1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Not internet connection, but can ping from router

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by DannyBoyZA, Jan 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DannyBoyZA

    DannyBoyZA Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Hi, We've got a small office network, 4 laptops via WiFi (Windows 7 x86 & x64) and a wired pc (Windows XP) connected to a Netgear DG834GT wireless ADSL router. All are static IPs, except for the ADSL IP (from the ISP). Everything worked until sometime Sunday afternoon, and from there on no internet access but LAN access is still fine. Very long story short (regarding ADSL line provider and ISP provider), all settings were check and verified. I'm able to ping IP addresses and do DNS lookups form the router, but nothing on the computers. I can even connect remotely to the wired computer via VNC. But no internet access on all the computers. Can you please help?? Danny Boy
     
  2. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Welcome to TSG:
    Let's see if I underatand your issue.
    You have lan connectivity on all pc's but no wireless connectivity on any ?
    As far as you know,no hardware/software changes around this time ?
    Have you tried moving one of the laptops closer to the router just to see if this is a signal issue?
    Have you tried changing the wireless channel?(1/6/11 in US is preferred)
    Have you tried a router reset ?
    Have you disabled encryption on the router as a test ?
    Then let's see these from a failing pc:
    Wifi test exe. Hint from Johnwill

    Download and run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspecto from
    www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    on the problem machine. Post a screen shot of the main screen here.



    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button
    to upload it here.

    Note that this application requires NET Framework to run. If you get an error about a missing function, download and install NET Framework.
    And:
    From a Johnwill post on the Networking Forum


    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

    Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 74.125.45.100

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.







    Wifi test exe. Hint from Johnwill

    Download and run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspecto from
    www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    on the problem machine. Post a screen shot of the main screen here.



    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button
    to upload it here.

    Note that this application requires NET Framework to run. If you get an error about a missing function, download and install NET Framework.
     
  3. DannyBoyZA

    DannyBoyZA Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Sorry for my poor (and loose) reference to LAN "and from there on no internet access but LAN access is still fine", I meant network access.

    In short: wireless computers and the wired computer can:
    - "see" each other on the network, i.e. file transfer, printing
    - have local access to the network.

    There were no software changes (that I'm aware of) and no hardware changes. The router and computers were rebooted a couple of times, but the router have not been reset, although the firmware was upgraded and the settings imported from a backup.

    Ok, now for the commands:

    C:\>IPCONFIG /ALL
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Printer-Server
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 3Com 3C920 Integrated Fast Ethernet
    Controller (3C905C-TX Compatible)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-06-5B-11-FC-A9
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 168.210.2.2
    196.14.239.2
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 18 January 2011 15:44:19
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 21 January 2011 15:44:19

    C:\>ping 192.168.0.2
    Pinging 192.168.0.2 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.2:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\>ping 192.168.0.1
    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\>ping 168.210.2.2
    Pinging 168.210.2.2 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Ping statistics for 168.210.2.2:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\>PING 74.125.45.100
    Pinging 74.125.45.100 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Ping statistics for 74.125.45.100:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\>ping yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.
     
  4. DannyBoyZA

    DannyBoyZA Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    When I do the same on the Netgear's Control Panel Diagnostics page, I get:
    However, if I do the same on the Netgear's Control Panel Diagnostic, the following happens:

    PING <computer_IP_address>
    PING 192.168.0.2 (192.168.0.2): 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.2: icmp_seq=0 ttl=128 time=5.0 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.2: icmp_seq=1 ttl=128 time=0.0 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.2: icmp_seq=2 ttl=128 time=0.0 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.2: icmp_seq=3 ttl=128 time=0.0 ms
    --- 192.168.0.2 ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 4 packets received, 0% packet loss
    round-trip min/avg/max = 0.0/1.2/5.0 ms

    PING <default_gateway_address>
    PING 192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1): 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=5.0 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.0 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.0 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.0 ms
    --- 192.168.0.1 ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 4 packets received, 0% packet loss
    round-trip min/avg/max = 0.0/1.2/5.0 ms

    PING <dns_servers>
    PING 168.210.2.2 (168.210.2.2): 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 168.210.2.2: icmp_seq=0 ttl=59 time=25.0 ms
    64 bytes from 168.210.2.2: icmp_seq=1 ttl=59 time=25.0 ms
    64 bytes from 168.210.2.2: icmp_seq=2 ttl=59 time=25.0 ms
    64 bytes from 168.210.2.2: icmp_seq=3 ttl=59 time=25.0 ms
    --- 168.210.2.2 ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 4 packets received, 0% packet loss
    round-trip min/avg/max = 25.0/25.0/25.0 ms
    Both DNS servers' results are the same

    PING 74.125.45.100
    PING 74.125.45.100 (74.125.45.100): 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 74.125.45.100: icmp_seq=0 ttl=51 time=315.0 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.45.100: icmp_seq=1 ttl=51 time=310.0 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.45.100: icmp_seq=2 ttl=51 time=315.0 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.45.100: icmp_seq=3 ttl=51 time=310.0 ms
    --- 74.125.45.100 ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 4 packets received, 0% packet loss
    round-trip min/avg/max = 310.0/312.5/315.0 ms

    PING yahoo.com
    Best I can do here is to do a lookup with the router's software, giving:
    69.147.125.65
     
  5. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    OK:The data provided shows no wireless connection.
    But:
    This appears to be a dns issue.:
    Try this:
    Courtesy of Terrynet on the Networking Forum

    To configure a dynamic IP address on your Windows Vista or 7 computer:



    To configure a dynamic IP address on your Windows Vista or 7 computer:

    1. Click Start.
    2. Select Network, then Network and Sharing Center, and click Manage network connections or Change adapter settings from the list of tasks.
    3. Right click the connection of interest and click Properties.
    4. Select Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) from the list and click the Properties button.
    5. Select Obtain an IP address automatically.
    6. Select Obtain DNS Server address automatically.
    7. Click OK.
    8. Click Close.

    And if that does not do it, try this:

    https://store.opendns.com/setup/computer/
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,257
    First Name:
    Terry
    Was there a reset to factory default settings after the upgrade? If not I suggest that you do so, and then just do the minimum configuration (WAN section) to get internet access and try one of the computers. If this works then continue configuring by hand and do not use that backup that was made with the previous firmware.

    I think you need to shop for a router unless the above works. Everything seems to be working fine except for the routing between the LAN and WAN (which is kinda the central purpose of a router :) ).
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/975397

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice