1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

'not like' query - access 2003

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Trieshard, Sep 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Trieshard

Trieshard Thread Starter

I am fairly new to access 2003 and self taught, but i have been asked to write a
    query that has me stumped and i need some help.

I need to write a query that will return only the details ie name and address,
    of clients who have not paid their renewal fee - the amounts will vary from client to
    client as they are based on sales discounts and loyalty awards etc.

At first, I thought that this should be quite simple however, any one client will have a number of payments made throughout the year, with different amounts being paid/refunded. this will make it impossible for me to use the 'amount paid' to find all those who have not paid a renewal fee. It seems the only way to see if they have paid their renewal fee is to use the data held in the 'payment description' which will describe everything from their 'initial fee', 'refund of overpayment', 'discount applied' as well as 'renewal fee'

I only want to see those clients who do not have 'renewal fee' in the payment description fields and i'm finding it difficult to work out how i can do this. I have tried 'not like renewal fee', but this returns all the clients.

Any Ideas or suggestions??

the database has two tables, client and payments

2. etaf

etaf Wayne Moderator

3. OBP

OBP Trusted Advisor

Trieshard, welcome to the Forum.
    You could try
    <>"renewal fee"

4. slurpee55

slurpee55

It sounds like you really should reorganize your data, with different fields for each type of payment - a different field for each of those types currently listed in 'payment description.'