1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Not quite photography; but, related problem.

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by Alex Ethridge, Sep 27, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,035
    I want to turn my digital camera into a full-screen, high-resolution monitor. I need for the image on the computer monitor to be full screen, not just the little two-inch-square you get with NetMeeting or Yahoo Messenger. Those just won't do at all.

    Suggestions please.

    Frankly, I think I have all or nearly all the hardware I need (or do I) and I think software is what I need now.
     
  2. chalky

    chalky

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,864
    Try using Irfanview...you can view all pics taken as full screen...

    It's a free utility and quite frankly you couldn't buy better..

    http://www.irfanview.com/
     
  3. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    If you have the right TWAIN (Technology Without An Interesting Name) driver for your camera that supports it, then many of the graphics editing programs will indeed allow the display of real-time video streams.
     
  4. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,035
    I think we're a little off track here:
    "Monitor", as in surveilance, meaning real-time live pictures.
     
  5. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    I understood exactly what you wanted.

    I thought my reply indicated that, however to paraphrase:

    I have successfully watched real time video (from a USB connected camera) displayed in a graphics editing program.

    I.e. the display software was nothing more than a common graphics program, that worked just fine. Use the "acquire" function.

    With the correct TWAIN driver, it worked, and that appears to be the key. My present cameras are not recognised in such a manner as I do not have the TWAIN driver. It may be available, I haven't looked as I don't need that function.

    However, if you have or can get a TWAIN driver, then that may be all you need.

    From memory it was Ulead PhotoImpact 5 that was used, with an el-cheapo WebCam.
     
  6. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,035
    Thanks, I didn't understand that, nor did I know any graphics program had that capability.

    I'll definitely look into it.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/167767

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice