Not recognised HDD

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Flarey

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
3
Last month I bought a brand new Fujitsu computer for christmas (Windows 7 64bit), when I got it set up it worked perfectly until I got a message saying that it was out of disk space, so I went to my computer and checked if it was full. Sure enough it said 1.4gb free, but what shocked me was to find it said I only had 40gb of disk space! On the box it said 500gb, when I googled the HDD it was only available in 500gb (ST3500413AS). I went to BIOS and it showed this;
Serial ATA Port 0-----ST3500413AS
Sofftware Preserve-----SUPPORTED
Port 0-----Enabled
Hot Plug-----Disabled
External SATA-----Disabled
Spin Up Device-----Disabled
Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks
Cathal
(Sorry if this is already a thread, Im new here and couldn't find it)
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
check in disk management if there is any unallocated space on the drive

if there is format the unallocated space
 

Flarey

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
3
Thanks for the help, it worked perfectly.
Is there any way to change it from "New Volume F" to just F
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
from disk management

highlight the drive
click on action at the top
all tasks
properties

then you can change it in the box at the top in there
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
5,599
does that mean she has a 40 gig c drive and a 460 gig f drive???? thats still a prob'
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
i would extend C drive by 260g making the drive space 300 and 200
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
5,599
i am not sure she is aware of that or how to do...............but i could be wrong : )
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
in case they don't know

right click on the C partition in disk management then click on extend
 

Flarey

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
3
Thanks for the help but im still having problems. I wanted to extend C not make a new volume but now I cannot delete F, what could I do?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top