1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Not responding when using save as or opening data files

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by raffaelec, Apr 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. raffaelec

    raffaelec Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    My machine hangs (messages shows not responding) when trying a number of simple save or open commands on microsoft office applications. It hangs when:

    I try to open a pst data file (archive copy or old back up)throught outlook. I get as far as pressing "file"then "open"then it hangs.
    I try and save attachments, it allows me to save as in the top directory (my documents) but not in sub directories
    I try a "send to" command with any of the office applications it hands
    I open a document and try to save it later in any directory other than the highest level (my documents)

    It does not hange when:
    I right click on the attachments and drag onto desktop then drag into the sub folders
    I copy and past ok
    I view all files no matter what the level when using windows explorer
     
  2. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,840
    Have you read te very first thread?
     
  3. Karin Hougaard

    Karin Hougaard

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    I have the same problem, started out of the blue! Could you fix it yet?
    I cannot use my Explorer properly either, won't respond - also gives error message "not responding"
    Excell won't save and won't open either, have to access files via other applications like saved attachments to mails.- also gives error message "not responding"
    Publisher won't save new files.- also gives error message "not responding"
    It's freaking me out completely!
     
  4. raffaelec

    raffaelec Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Hello ODP, I think I saw a similar issue but I saw that the proposed solution did not fix the problem
     
  5. Karin Hougaard

    Karin Hougaard

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Hi, I don't want to talk too soon, but I did the registry modification thing and it seems to be working! So far so good!
     
  6. raffaelec

    raffaelec Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Hi there, I dont want to talk too soon either but I also did the registry thing and I think its worked. I think I will update my cv now to add IT specialist to my skills. Thank you all for responding.
     
  7. Karin Hougaard

    Karin Hougaard

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Ditto to that raffaelec. I'm going to add genius to my CV :)))) My computer is up and running and still going strong...Thanks to all.
     
  8. bjking

    bjking

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    How did you do the registry thing. I can't save as, and I just bought office 2003 because of the problems I was having with Office 2000.
     
  9. raffaelec

    raffaelec Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    HI there, I used this resolution. hope it works for you too

    Log on to the computer by using an account that has administrative credentials.
    2. Click Start, click Run, type regedit, and then click OK.
    3. Locate and then right-click the following registry subkey:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Shell Extensions\Cached
    4. Point to New, and then click DWORD Value.
    5. For Microsoft Windows 2000-based computers, type the following:
    {A4DF5659-0801-4A60-9607-1C48695EFDA9} {000214E6-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}
    For Microsoft Windows XP-based or Microsoft Windows Server 2003-based computers, type the following:
    {A4DF5659-0801-4A60-9607-1C48695EFDA9} {000214E6-0000-0000-C000-000000000046} 0x401
    6. Right-click the value that you just created, and then set the Value data to 1.
    7. Exit Registry Editor.
    8. Use Task Manager to close the Verclsid.exe program or to restart the computer.
     
  10. l_pales

    l_pales

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Hi. I went to add the value to the registry but the exact values were already there and the value was already set to 1. There were also 4 other values in that subkey. I'm still having the same problem. Should I delete the other values from the registry? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/461072

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice