1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Not seeing boot drive after cleaning pc insides

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by phixgrrrl, Jun 5, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. phixgrrrl

    phixgrrrl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    386
    First Name:
    Danielle
    i cleaned the dust from my custom built pc and when I booted up it could not find windows. I tried twice more same result.
    I opened it up again and checked some connections and unplugged and reugged some of them. I especially checked to see the hds were connected which they were.
    I rebooted and got into the bios and checked the boot order. The only options I saw were the DVD drive and my external hd. I didn't see either of my internal hds as a choice!
    So what should I do?

    I have win 7 64 bit, amd processor. Most parts are new (e.g. Have been replaced) except the hds. I had zero issues before I cleaned out the dust.

    I'm writing this via my phone so I have no access to specs.

    Thanks
     
  2. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,228
    First Name:
    Andrew
    You either knocked something loose or you damaged the hard drives somehow.

    Make sure the power cables are plugged into them and that the SATA cables are connected.
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,503
    First Name:
    Frank
    How exactly did you remove the dust from inside your computer?

    Did you remove or disconnect any hardware components before you removed the dust?

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. phixgrrrl

    phixgrrrl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    386
    First Name:
    Danielle
    I just used compressed air.
    I did find the problem. I had to remove the other side of the case as well but then I saw the power cables to the hds had come loose. Works fine now.
    Thank u for your replies. :)
     
  5. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,228
    First Name:
    Andrew
    Glad to hear you found the issue.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1191023

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice