nothing on bootup

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kknla

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2001
Messages
257
I am working with a compaq presario 5000. When powered on, nothing comes up. I tried a diff video card, but same problem. Fan, hd, cd powers up. Just a blank screen. AGP video card, tried using a radeon pci card though. Any suggestions?
 

kknla

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2001
Messages
257
Thats what I tried first, I am starting leaning towards a bad Motherboard. Just looking for anything that I might have missed.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2002
Messages
791
If it's the m/b that sucks. Make sure the cable connection is clean, no cracks or anything. Trying to think of things, so you don't have to replace that m/b.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Yes.

Also ram.

Or power supply not putting out enough power.
 

kknla

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2001
Messages
257
I guess i should check and make sure its putting out the correct voltage, but i did try diff ram with no luck.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2003
Messages
68
Hey,
I had your same problem. When i first built my computer, the same thing happened to me,. It could be a bunch of different things, but this might help you. First, listen for any beeps when you start your pc,. Find out what kind of bios you have then look up beep codes for it,. That may fix your problem. If not then goto the motherboards website and look at the manual. Check and place the jumpers correctly, its worth a shot, also make sure that everything is connected firmly.
J.B. Joker
 

kknla

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2001
Messages
257
No beeps, Nothing is happening besides a few thigs powering up. Jumpers are set correctly, this is an old pc, it was working before, just not now.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2000
Messages
89
I've had troubles like this before when building computers. Somehow the problem turned out to be the ram despite the fact I had tested another stick with the same results. Some motherboards are extremely sensitive to how the ram is seated. Other than that the problems could be anything from a weak power supply(although anything 300watt and up should work to get it booted up provided you don't have too many peripherals hooked up), a bad cpu, or a bad mboard. Its really hart to determine which of these is the problem as they all have nearly identical symptoms.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top