nstaller says need XP SP 2, But already have XP SP3. What do

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Try Compatibility Mode.

Check for a new version of the program.

Contact the developer.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,144
The installer of what? :confused:

-------------------------------------------------------
 

disgustedxpuser

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
4
What a useless forum.

The answer was to uninstall SP3which reverts to SP2, then install the software, then reinstall SP3.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,144
nstaller says need XP SP 2, But already have XP SP3. What do

says I need XP service pack 2. This computer has XP Pro v. 2002 sp3.

How do I accomplish this?
It would've been helpful if you had been more detailed and specific as to what your problem is and what you're trying to do.

There's no reason to revert from SP3 back to SP2 to install something, then restall SP3.

--------------------------------------------------------

Update: I quoted what you said, and it doesn't tell us what you were trying to do.

You're correct about it being a "stellar site". That's one reason why I've been a member for 9-1/2 years.

Anyway, glad you got it solved.

-------------------------------------------------------
 

disgustedxpuser

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
4
I actually had much more in the title, but this stellar site shortened it.

And no one asked for more info, I just got a lone boilerplate useless response. ButI solved it by asking elsewhere.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
There is no reason to uninstall a service pack in order to install a program. That would be the very hardest way to accomplish the task and prone to problems.

It would help if you answered the questions and let us know what you are doing. Look behind you. Do you see us? No, we are not there and we can't see what is going on, so if you keep it a secret, we will never know.

I'm glad you found a place that you like. We have people who need our help so we can now get back to work.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top