1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

nstaller says need XP SP 2, But already have XP SP3. What do

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by disgustedxpuser, Nov 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. disgustedxpuser

    disgustedxpuser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    says I need XP service pack 2. This computer has XP Pro v. 2002 sp3.

    How do I accomplish this?
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Try Compatibility Mode.

    Check for a new version of the program.

    Contact the developer.
     
  3. disgustedxpuser

    disgustedxpuser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    What is compatability mode?
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Right-click > Properties > Compatibilty tab.
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,903
    First Name:
    Frank
    The installer of what? :confused:

    -------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. disgustedxpuser

    disgustedxpuser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    What a useless forum.

    The answer was to uninstall SP3which reverts to SP2, then install the software, then reinstall SP3.
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,903
    First Name:
    Frank
    It would've been helpful if you had been more detailed and specific as to what your problem is and what you're trying to do.

    There's no reason to revert from SP3 back to SP2 to install something, then restall SP3.

    --------------------------------------------------------

    Update: I quoted what you said, and it doesn't tell us what you were trying to do.

    You're correct about it being a "stellar site". That's one reason why I've been a member for 9-1/2 years.

    Anyway, glad you got it solved.

    -------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. disgustedxpuser

    disgustedxpuser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I actually had much more in the title, but this stellar site shortened it.

    And no one asked for more info, I just got a lone boilerplate useless response. ButI solved it by asking elsewhere.
     
  9. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    There is no reason to uninstall a service pack in order to install a program. That would be the very hardest way to accomplish the task and prone to problems.

    It would help if you answered the questions and let us know what you are doing. Look behind you. Do you see us? No, we are not there and we can't see what is going on, so if you keep it a secret, we will never know.

    I'm glad you found a place that you like. We have people who need our help so we can now get back to work.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1027466

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice