NT system policies

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

goosed

I'm a newbie at managing an NT4.0 server and have implemented system policies for users. I would like to know how to restrict users from downloading executables from the web? Please help as well as sharing with me any books that may point me in the right direction for managing the server etc. Thank you.:) :cool:

Max19

Account Disabled
Books are great, but you should really take some classes on Windows NT server management.

goosed

I have taken server management courses, but they don't go indepth. Most courses are time restricted, and with the volume of material they have to teach, there's no time for specifics. Also my program of backups is probably superior to most administrators and that was not an issue here for discussion. If there is anyone who can help with suggestions on implementing a restrictive policy to stop executables from being downloaded I'd love to hear from you. Also would I need to look at third party software for that?

Brooks

The thing about backups is Max's signature that gets added to all his posts automatically. You can tell if it is a signature by the fact that it has a solid line above it going approx. 1/4 of the way across the post. Also, signatures don't show up when replying to someones post.

I have one also and I must say that it is a scream :D

Now on to your post.

You could set a run list in your policies that will only allow the users to run the applications that you specify. Used in conjuction with the proper permissions set on the .exe files, this can be effective. The easiest way to set the permissions is from the command line with the cacls command. They can still download them, but they cannot run them.