1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ntoskrnl.exe missing/corrupt

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Black Goku, Feb 5, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Black Goku

    Black Goku Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    i start my laptop and i get the error message windows\system\Ntoskrnl.exe missing/corrupt. After that the screen just goes blank and tries to re-boot.
    Can anyone help? Im pretty good at computers but this thing is 2 much!

    EDIT: The message dosent come up at all now!
     
  2. Black Goku

    Black Goku Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    I have read about it in the forums and found the soloution but I dont have a chance to access the computer
     
  3. rebelmusic

    rebelmusic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    255
    Do a windows repair, that will fix it

    You need to boot of your windows cd to do this
     
  4. Black Goku

    Black Goku Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    BUt thats the problem even if i do put the boot cd in nothing happens
     
  5. rebelmusic

    rebelmusic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    255
    Is your computer set to boot off the cd-rom first? Its probably set to boot ffrom the hard drive first. You can change this in the bios
     
  6. Black Goku

    Black Goku Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Ive changed the bios in this order
    Optical Drive
    Hard Drive
    Floopy drive
    Network Drive
    It stiil dosent work! Im completely confused :(
     
  7. rebelmusic

    rebelmusic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    255
    Hmmm...ok when you boot up do you see:

    "press *something* for boot menu?

    That way you can defo know if its booting from the cd or not. It's also possible your copy of windows is scratched or your cd drive isnt working
     
  8. Black Goku

    Black Goku Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    No i dont. Well it isnt a windows Cd it is a recovery CD but should it work the same? Ive got a desktop aswell (the one im using now) and that has an original Windows Cd. Should it work?
     
  9. rebelmusic

    rebelmusic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    255
    I dont know if the recovery cd will work but yes the windows cd will
     
  10. RazakJalil

    RazakJalil

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Have you tried to take out the battery. Sometimes a notebook is in resume mode not "boot mode"
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Ntoskrnl missing corrupt
  1. Robertico22
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    528
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/327068

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice