1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

NTVDM CPU Error

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by bforunic, Oct 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bforunic

    bforunic Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Hi
    I have a very weird problem on my system. In the right bottom of my taskbar a message keeps popping out saying that my system is infected. When I click on the message, it runs a cmd and shows a message as

    C:\WINDOWS\Systsm32\WINI10~1.EXE
    The NTVDM CPU has encountered an illegal instruction
    CS:0e0b IP:0199 OP:2e 63 6f 6d 22 Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.

    But When I click on close, the message again keeps popping on the taskbar.I tried to find the file "WINI10~1.EXE" in C:\WINDOWS\Systsm32\ but could not find any file with that name.

    Please help me resolving this issue. Thanks
     
  2. Sequal7

    Sequal7

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,382
    Hello and welcome to Tech Support Guy forums;
    Unfortunately your computer sounds like it is infected with spy ware or worse yet a virus.
    DO NOT click the alert anymore, it is part of the spyware or virus, so clicking it may in fact do more damage.

    Do you have antivirus software installed? What is it. Have you ran a scan and if so what did it find?

    You should request this post be moved to the spyware forums, where you would get the best help and directions to fix the problem.

    Are these similar to your problem?
    http://forums.techguy.org/windows-nt-2000-xp/465214-solved-ntvdm-cpu-error.html
    http://forums.techguy.org/malware-removal-hijackthis-logs/759067-red-x-icon-system-tray.html
     
  3. bforunic

    bforunic Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    The second link you sent is similar to my problem. I have "Trend Micro" installed on my system.
     
  4. bforunic

    bforunic Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    I did run a scan with Trend Micro and found some threats and deleted them. But the problem still continues.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/759129

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice