1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ntvdm.exe has stopped working when running a dos program

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by granitelake, Mar 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. granitelake

    granitelake Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I am trying to run an older 16 bit dos application on Windows 7 Professional with XP Mode. The program begins to load, and sometimes loads completely, and then I get the error "Ntvdm.exe has stopped working"


    It runs fine under Windows 95, 98, 2000 and XP with compatabillity mode set to Windows 98.
    But it does not work under Windows 7 even when I run as adminstrator.

    Any ideas?

    Thank you.
     
  2. RaytheBear

    RaytheBear

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    610
    Which 16 bit Dos program are you trying to run? Even some older 16 bit Dos programs will not even run in an original WinXP OS. Sometimes one has to run a program like DosBox to get these programs running.

    Good luck
    Ray
     
  3. granitelake

    granitelake Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    RaytheBear,

    We have been using ADS ... Application Development System since 1985 ... Originally it was was running on CTOS equipment. The company developed a DOS version in the late 1980s. The version we are using is the latest ... released in 1993. The company no longer exits. ADS is a 16 bit application written in C and accesses ISAM files. I am still able to run it under Windows XP mode with this new copy of Windows 7 but I would like to see it run under Windows 7 directly. The error I get sometimes comes before the menu loads and sometimes after the menu loads. What is DOSBox?

    Thank you.
     
  4. granitelake

    granitelake Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I got it working under dosbox ... Thank you.
    I was unable to get ADS working under Windows 7 directly ... I suspect I would have to replace NTDVM.exe with an older version.
     
  5. RaytheBear

    RaytheBear

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    610
    Glad to see you learned how to use Dosbox and got your program working.
    I would leave it working under Dosbox, I would Not Fool around with Win7 operational files, you could mess up your OS. Old 16 Bits applications will not and is not meant to work with Win7 let alone Vista.
    Rumours have it that Win8 or Win9 will get rid of even the 32 bit system and it will be only 64 and 128 bit systems...

    Take care
    Ray
     
  6. granitelake

    granitelake Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Ray ... I will follow your advice and stick with Dosbox ... I
    built a icon to invoke the ADS application and put two mounts in the
    config file ... plus some other commands to set the paths and cd, run and
    exit ... now I have to figure out how to have multiple config files for
    different icons ... I am still not sure about the mounts and how the files
    in the directories get over there ... it appears that is is a copy of the
    original directories on the C drive.

    Regards,
    Terry
     
  7. RaytheBear

    RaytheBear

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    610
    Hi again,
    Now that you got the hang of DosBox, here is another tool that can help working with Dosbox easier, it is called DFend Reloaded (Also comes with DosBox) and I find this makes life easier when installing Old games, I have never tried it for applications since I do not have any old apps, but I imagine it will work the same:

    http://sourceforge.net/projects/dfendreloaded/

    Good luck with your Old apps. adventure.
    Ray
     
  8. granitelake

    granitelake Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Hi Ray,

    I am looking at the DFend Reloaded but not sure what it is yet.
    We will be using the ADS application in a network ... will the counter workstations be able to access the DOSbox virtual drives?
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/986964