1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Nvid4_disp.dll?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by RawrXTCRawr, May 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RawrXTCRawr

    RawrXTCRawr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Hey, i was just wondering if anyone could help me with this blue screen error. It says something about nvid4_disp.dll i thought it was the video card driver so i reinstalled it, but that wasnt it. I have a nvidia geforce fx 5200. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. happyrck

    happyrck

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,202
    Nv4 disp.dll

    nv4_disp.dll, generally located in C:\\WINDOWS of most Microsoft Windows operating systems, is the name of a NVIDIA display Driver which causes a BSoD or stop error in the system.

    The generally known fix for this is to download the latest drivers from nVidia then install them in the computer's Safe Mode.
     
  3. RawrXTCRawr

    RawrXTCRawr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    O ok, because i tried reinstalling the drivers before but not in safe mode. I guess thats why the error keeps comming back. Thanks, ill try it now.
     
  4. RawrXTCRawr

    RawrXTCRawr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Well, i thought it fixed the problem, but after awhile the error came back. The whole thing says, NV4_disp.dll - Address BF18F5C2 base at BF012000.
     
  5. happyrck

    happyrck

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,202
    when does the blue screen happen...gaming...surfing...running a particular program...after 10 minutes...ect
     
  6. RawrXTCRawr

    RawrXTCRawr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    It happens when i play games. After about 5-10 mins the blue screen comes up.
     
  7. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
    How much Ram do you have? And is the ram the same type as the ram in your video card?
     
  8. RawrXTCRawr

    RawrXTCRawr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    i have 768 ram. i dont think that has to do with anything though because it worked well when i first got this comp made, but recently ive reformatted then this error came along.
     
  9. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
    What kind of computer is this one? And did you use the recovery software that came with it?
     
  10. happyrck

    happyrck

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,202
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/471471