1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Nvidia GeForceGT 630M and screen resolution

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bleep69, Jan 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bleep69

    bleep69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Hi,

    I just got the HP Envy dv6 laptop, which comes with the above graphics card. On all the sites I have seen, the screen resolution in this machine is 1900 x 1020, but to my dismay the resolution is actually much lower at 1366 x 769.

    Due to geographical and economic factors, returning the laptop is a major PITA, and I'd like to avoid it if possible.

    My 'research' shows that this card should support a higher resolution, is there something amiss that can be fixed, or is that it?

    Any help appreciated!

    Cheers.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Most new laptops atthe lower price range are set for 1366 x 768

    if you goto the desktop
    right click
    graphic properties

    what is available there

    I have a fuji and was very disappointed to see that screen resolution - when i had been used to a sony which was able to goto a much higher resolution

    do you have the FULL model details
    http://www.reviewspecsnewlaptoppccs.com/hp-envy-dv6-7210us-15-6-inch-laptop-review/
    Max Screen Resolution 1366×768 pixels
     
  3. bleep69

    bleep69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Hi etaf,

    The maximum there is the paltry 1366 x 768. I was hoping some driver update or something might get me past it, but I'm told by my computer that all drivers are up to date :(

    Where do I find the full model details?

    Thanks!
     
  4. bleep69

    bleep69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    135
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    for model
    Model:

    * Go to Start > All Programs > Accessories > Command Prompt
    * Type, wmic computersystem get model
    * Press Enter
     
  6. bleep69

    bleep69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    I typed that and got "HP ENVY dv6 Notebook PC"

    :(
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
  8. bleep69

    bleep69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    There doesn't appear to be any label. I don't have it available right now, but when I get home I'll dig out the original specs and see if that clarifies anything.

    Thanks for your help etaf.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1084404

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice