NVIDIA graphics cards don't work

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

KazukiMatsuoka1998

Kazuki
Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2015
Messages
74
Hello,

I purchased a PC from a store called Standard computers years ago, it had 16 gig of ram with a NVIDIA Quadro and a NVIDIA GeoForce graphics card including the ASROCK motherboard.

A couple of months ago, all of a sudden the computer just wouldn't power on. With the help of telecoil, I found that there was something wrong with the power so we replaced the power source connected in the PC itself but that didn't work, it was the motherboard that was broken.

So we replaced that with an ASUS motherboard that is compatible with with the hardware we have, it'll power up and work like a normal computer but for some reason, when I put the two graphics cards back in, they just won't work.

What can I do to get them working again?

Thanks.
 
Last edited:

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,257
First of all, no one [other than you] has any idea what hardware you are running. Post ALL of your exact system specs; ie exact motherboard, exact ram, exact pw supply, etc, etc. Do not post 16gig of ram; post the exact brand and model# Do that for ALL of your parts.
 

KazukiMatsuoka1998

Kazuki
Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2015
Messages
74
First of all, no one [other than you] has any idea what hardware you are running. Post ALL of your exact system specs; ie exact motherboard, exact ram, exact pw supply, etc, etc. Do not post 16gig of ram; post the exact brand and model# Do that for ALL of your parts.

Sorry for the late reply, here are the computer specifications:

6 GIG of RAM
250GIG on master drive
1TB on slave drive
NVIDIA Geforce GT 610 graphics card
NVIDIA Quadro K620
DiskSoft Virtual SCSI ScRom Device
PIONEER BD-RW BDR-209D
Intel(R) 9 Series Chipset Family SATA AHCI Controller
Intel (R) Core ™ i5-4690 CPU @ 3.50GHz
Acer X193W (Digital) Monitor
Manufacturer: Standard Computers
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,257
it'll power up and work like a normal computer but for some reason, when I put the two graphics cards back in, they just won't work.
I am really not understanding your statement. You say the system pw ON and works normally; then you install video cards and it does not work. How are you getting video without the video cards installed? Does this system have onboard/onchip video or what? Next you really really have to post your exact specs. 6gig of ram does not tell use much; you need to post the brand and model# of each part. Most parts have either a label or they will have the mfg and part# silkscreened on the board itself.
 

KazukiMatsuoka1998

Kazuki
Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2015
Messages
74
I am really not understanding your statement. You say the system pw ON and works normally; then you install video cards and it does not work. How are you getting video without the video cards installed? Does this system have onboard/onchip video or what? Next you really really have to post your exact specs. 6gig of ram does not tell use much; you need to post the brand and model# of each part. Most parts have either a label or they will have the mfg and part# silkscreened on the board itself.

It has 16 gig of ram, sorry.
The PC came pre made with the video cards and everything installed. The motherboard has it's own htmi input so it can work without the video cards.

The motherboard was previously broken so it was replaced with an ASUS motherboard similar to the original, to do that, I took out the video cards, intel processor, fans, and ram into the new one to properly configure the new motherboard without the video cards. After that when the PC was restored with everything okay, I put the video cards back in.
What puzzles me now is that when I put the cards back, it doesn't show any video, they don't seem to work if I use them as a video output.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,257
In order to help you, you really need to post your specs. We have no idea what motherboard you are using [other than asus]
I took out the video cards, intel processor, fans, and ram into the new one to properly configure the new motherboard without the video cards
If you built the system, it should be very easy to post your exact specs.

Did you clean install windows or did you simply use the hard drive with the old windows install?
 

KazukiMatsuoka1998

Kazuki
Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2015
Messages
74
In order to help you, you really need to post your specs. We have no idea what motherboard you are using [other than asus]

If you built the system, it should be very easy to post your exact specs.

Did you clean install windows or did you simply use the hard drive with the old windows install?
I got the original hard drive and put it in the new motherboard. No clean install.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,257
Well you just answered your question. Unless you follow the procedure outlined at the top of the forum for swapping motherboards without a clean install, it will almost always have problems.
 

KazukiMatsuoka1998

Kazuki
Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2015
Messages
74
Well you just answered your question. Unless you follow the procedure outlined at the top of the forum for swapping motherboards without a clean install, it will almost always have problems.
Could you explain how that works? Why would that create problems? Plus, that's terrible, why go through a clean install? I got my windows 10 for free through Microsoft, I can't obtain it again, I only have my original Windows 8.1 disk with it's serial key.

I did this with a family member who is an expert with IT, he made his own computer and did the exact same thing, take his old hard drive from his old computer and put it in his new one with the same graphics cards - no problems.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,257
Well you have a problem. Have you read the guide? It explains WHY you cannot do this or at least why it often does not work. In addition, you have another problem. If you have a retail ver of windows, then it is not a problem. Win10 installs with a win7/8key [just did it yesterday] however IF you have an OEM type windows lic ie what comes on a dell, hp or other pre-built system, then you need a new windows lic. OEM type lic live and die with the original hardware. You change the motherboard and you need a new copy of windows.
 

KazukiMatsuoka1998

Kazuki
Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2015
Messages
74
Well you have a problem. Have you read the guide? It explains WHY you cannot do this or at least why it often does not work. In addition, you have another problem. If you have a retail ver of windows, then it is not a problem. Win10 installs with a win7/8key [just did it yesterday] however IF you have an OEM type windows lic ie what comes on a dell, hp or other pre-built system, then you need a new windows lic. OEM type lic live and die with the original hardware. You change the motherboard and you need a new copy of windows.

All right, thank you very much for your help. I will do that. I will come back if anything comes up and or the cards still don't work.
 
Joined
May 28, 2018
Messages
154
In the BIOS, set graphics from iGPU to PCIe. Power down the computer, remove DVI/HDMI or VGA cable from integrated graphics and connect it to the dedicated video card. Power on the computer. If you don't see the video, do the following steps.

Remove the Quadro card and use GeForce for video. Does it work?

Remove the GeForce card and use Quadro for video. Does it work?

You can get Windows 10 for free and install it. In order to use it past 30 days, you will have to buy a copy of Windows 10. Microsoft provides Windows 10 as a download which will give you a serial key (of course after buying it) or you can go through the Windows store within Windows to buy the CD key or serial key.

crjdriver, your guide is questionable. If there is no visual, I would take all add-on cards out and power up the computer, but only if the computer has onboard graphics. Also, I would have check if there any settings in the BIOS/UEFI that is related to graphics and change those settings if they are not on AUTO. Troubleshooting computers require a flow chart. OP did post all the hardware for me to diagnose the problem.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,257
In the BIOS, set graphics from iGPU to PCIe. Power down the computer, remove DVI/HDMI or VGA cable from integrated graphics and connect it to the dedicated video card. Power on the computer. If you don't see the video, do the following steps.

Remove the Quadro card and use GeForce for video. Does it work?

Remove the GeForce card and use Quadro for video. Does it work?

You can get Windows 10 for free and install it. In order to use it past 30 days, you will have to buy a copy of Windows 10. Microsoft provides Windows 10 as a download which will give you a serial key (of course after buying it) or you can go through the Windows store within Windows to buy the CD key or serial key.

crjdriver, your guide is questionable. If there is no visual, I would take all add-on cards out and power up the computer, but only if the computer has onboard graphics. Also, I would have check if there any settings in the BIOS/UEFI that is related to graphics and change those settings if they are not on AUTO. Troubleshooting computers require a flow chart. OP did post all the hardware for me to diagnose the problem.
REALLY??? I do not see where the poster posted the exact motherboard he is using [other than asus] Since asus mfg a LOT of motherboards, we have no idea.
As to your "Diagnosis" I doubt it is correct. The system works with onboard video. When you insert a real video card, the onboard is disabled and bios set accordingly. All modern asus boards will do this.

I agree that he should install one card at a time however that does not change the fact that the poster needs a new windows lic. This was a mfg system and he changed the motherboard. OEM type lic are valid with the original hardware ONLY. Change the board and you need a new lic.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 28, 2018
Messages
154
I have an ASUS motherboard and it didn't automatically switch to the dedicated video card when I mounted it. I had to change an option in the BIOS/UEFI that is related to graphics from iGPU to PCIe. There is no AUTO option. The motherboard model is P8H77-I from ASUS. I also have ASUS B75M-PLUS and the options is the same, so I used what I know for the OP problem. I didn't need to know the model of the motherboard and RAM that you ask. Over years of using my ASUS P8H77-I, I have memorized the BIOS options.

Carey Holzman's videos do show how to download Microsoft Windows 10 from Microsoft and install it. Microsoft freely provides a free download of Windows 10 that you can install. Microsoft does require that the user pays for a license if the user wants to continue using Windows 10 after 30 days. This can be done through Windows store within Windows 10 or buy a download version of Windows 10 through a reputable retailer. Of course, the Windows 10 version that you are buying through the retailer has to be the same as the one you installed.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,257
That is not a modern motherboard. That board is now 6yrs old; hardly modern. Win10 is not even listed as a supported OS.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top