Nvidia (POV) 8400GS doesn't ''apply'' overclock settings

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Abriam26

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
267
Hey,

I have a small problem.
I tried overclocking my GPU.
The settings are applied in MSI Afterburner. (I also tried Ntune)
But it isn't applied on the GPU itself.
I tried to OC the GPU core clock to 600 Mhz, but it is stuck at 405 Mhz (Shader clock is stuck at 810 Mhz, and memory clock is stuck at 405 Mhz as well)
According to GPU-Z my default clock is: GPU clock 520 Mhz; Memory clock 500Mhz; Shader clock 1230Mhz
But in the sensors tab it just shows 405;405;810 again..
(So it's underclocked?)

One weird thing I noticed is that the max. GPU load is 99% and not 100%... why?

Also added two attachments (screenshot & specs)

My temperatures are fine (I think), since the max. temperature is 95 degrees Celsius or something. And the card becomes 45 degrees celsius on full load. (measured using GPU-Z and Speedfan; fully loaded using FurMark (1024x768, no Anti-aliasing) And the GPU core is 37 degrees celsius when idle.

Thanks in advance,
Abiram26
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
605
Futile = Incapable of producing any useful result; pointless. That card is low end and not designed to be overclocked.
 

Abriam26

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
267
I'm not playing Battlefield 3, CoD BO2/Mw3, Assasin Creed 3 or something..
I also am a low-end gamer :)
Or I'm playing flash games on the internet.
But my graphics card usually laggs a bit.
Is there a way?
It's weird to me that it doesn't work on it's default or overclocked clock.
 

Abriam26

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
267
Still wondering if it is possible..?
(I know it's a low end card)
But this is also my first overclocked pc... I just want to mess with it... :)
For experience :D

Help?!
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2012
Messages
491
Yes it is possible- ignore those who are not being helpful! :)

On many graphics cards, a custom overclock is only ever applied if a GPU intensive application is running. This is to save energy- your energy bill would be a hell of a lot more if your GPU was running at it's maximum clock all the time. The only way to properly overclock is to run a GPU intensive game (such as Crysis)- a benchmarking program cannot serve as it uses too little of the GPU.


As I found out today on my rebuilt rig, your CPU, RAM and motherboard may be too old to play the games properly.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
605
Yes it is possible- ignore those who are not being helpful! :)

On many graphics cards, a custom overclock is only ever applied if a GPU intensive application is running. This is to save energy- your energy bill would be a hell of a lot more if your GPU was running at it's maximum clock all the time. The only way to properly overclock is to run a GPU intensive game (such as Crysis)- a benchmarking program cannot serve as it uses too little of the GPU.


As I found out today on my rebuilt rig, your CPU, RAM and motherboard may be too old to play the games properly.
Being honest is not helpful.
 

Abriam26

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
267
I know myself that the card is low-end..
So it's kind of unnecessary to repeat that 4 times.

So can anyone help me out?
Some guide or something?
It's very weird that the GPU load is "limited to 99%"...
And it can't even run on it's default clock...
 

Abriam26

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
267
I loaded Optimized Settings (F7) in the BIOS, and now the video card does overclock...
I don't really understand my computer, but well... it works :D
Now another question... what are good overclock settings?

Current settings:
GPU core clock: 600Mhz
GPU mem clock: 510Mhz
GPU Shader clock: 1419 Mhz
5 hours of FurMark stressing, max temp.: 47 degrees Celsius.
Idle temp.: 38 degrees Celsius.

When it is idle, it clocks back to 405-405-810 Mhz though. (core-mem-shader)

Sooo, any overclock settings suggestions?
(PS: I don't need "It's a low-end card" suggestion)
 

Abriam26

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
267
I loaded Optimized Settings (F7) in the BIOS, and now the video card does overclock...
I don't really understand my computer, but well... it works :D
Now another question... what are good overclock settings?

Current settings:
GPU core clock: 600Mhz
GPU mem clock: 510Mhz
GPU Shader clock: 1419 Mhz
5 hours of FurMark stressing, max temp.: 47 degrees Celsius.
Idle temp.: 38 degrees Celsius.

When it is idle, it clocks back to 405-405-810 Mhz though. (core-mem-shader)

Sooo, any overclock settings suggestions?
(PS: I don't need "It's a low-end card" suggestion)
I'm a beginning overclocker.. please help :S
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top