1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

OB Lan works with Linux but not Win XP

Discussion in 'Networking' started by gazinbali, Jan 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gazinbali

    gazinbali Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    I have Asrock 945GCM-S dual core MB with 1 gig ram. It has Realtek 8102El OB Lan
    Its stopped working.. but only on windows.. im using my Live cd now and works fine.
    I have installed latest drivers, no change, un installed and reinstalld the hardware.no change. if i shut down firewall, no change.
    Below is the networking info from windows.
    If u need any more info pls respondmy e mail [email protected]
    Thanks
    Gary



    Operating System

    Microsoft Windows XP Professional

    BootDevice = \Device\HarddiskVolume1
    BuildNumber = 2600
    BuildType = Multiprocessor Free
    Caption = Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    CodeSet = 1252
    CountryCode = 1
    CreationClassName = Win32_OperatingSystem
    CSCreationClassName = Win32_ComputerSystem
    CSDVersion = Service Pack 3
    CSName = HAL9000
    CurrentTimeZone = 480
    DataExecutionPrevention_32BitApplications = FALSE
    DataExecutionPrevention_Available = FALSE
    DataExecutionPrevention_Drivers = FALSE
    DataExecutionPrevention_SupportPolicy = 2
    Debug = FALSE
    Description = Home
    Distributed = FALSE
    EncryptionLevel = 168
    ForegroundApplicationBoost = 2
    FreePhysicalMemory = 1350244
    FreeSpaceInPagingFiles = 6963888
    FreeVirtualMemory = 2053676
    InstallDate = 11:52:54 AM 1/13/2009
    LargeSystemCache = 0
    LastBootUpTime = 11:09:03 AM 1/28/2010
    LocalDateTime = 11:13:27 AM 1/28/2010
    Locale = 0409
    Manufacturer = Microsoft Corporation
    MaxNumberOfProcesses = -1
    MaxProcessMemorySize = 2097024
    Name = Microsoft Windows XP Professional|C:\WINDOWS|\Device\Harddisk0\Partition1
    NumberOfProcesses = 55
    NumberOfUsers = 2
    OSLanguage = 1033
    OSType = 18
    Primary = TRUE
    ProductType = 1
    QuantumLength = 2
    QuantumType = 1
    RegisteredUser = user
    SerialNumber = 55274-643-7213323-23448
    ServicePackMajorVersion = 3
    ServicePackMinorVersion = 0
    SizeStoredInPagingFiles = 7607048
    Status = OK
    SuiteMask = 272
    SystemDevice = \Device\HarddiskVolume1
    SystemDirectory = C:\WINDOWS\system32
    SystemDrive = C:
    TotalVirtualMemorySize = 2097024
    TotalVisibleMemorySize = 2088172
    Version = 5.1.2600
    WindowsDirectory = C:\WINDOWS
    + Version

    5.1.2600

    Version = 5.1.2600
    BuildVersion = 2600.0000
    Modems and Network Adapters
    + Modems


    + Bluetooth Fax Modem
    AttachedTo = COM13
    BlindOff = X3
    BlindOn = X1
    Caption = Bluetooth Fax Modem
    CompatibilityFlags = "01000000"
    ConfigManagerErrorCode = 0
    ConfigManagerUserConfig = FALSE
    ConfigurationDialog = modemui.dll
    CreationClassName = Win32_PotsModem
    + DCB
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
    194
    1
    0
    21
    32
    0
    0
    0
    + Default
    60
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Description = Bluetooth Fax Modem
    DeviceID = ROOT\MODEM\0000
    DeviceType = External Modem
    DriverDate = 8:00:00 AM 7/29/2004
    InactivityScale = "0a000000"
    Index = 0
    MaxBaudRateToSerialPort = 115200
    Model = Bluetooth Fax Modem
    ModemInfPath = oem13.inf
    ModemInfSection = Modemreg
    Name = Bluetooth Fax Modem
    PNPDeviceID = ROOT\MODEM\0000
    PortSubClass = "02"
    PowerManagementSupported = FALSE
    Prefix = AT
    + Properties
    0
    0
    0
    0
    255
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    7
    0
    0
    0
    ProviderName = IVT Corporation
    Pulse = P
    Reset = AT&F
    ResponsesKeyName = Bluetooth Fax Modem::IVT Corporation::IVT Corporation
    SpeakerModeDial = M1
    SpeakerModeOff = M0
    SpeakerModeOn = M2
    SpeakerVolumeHigh = L3
    SpeakerVolumeLow = L1
    SpeakerVolumeMed = L2
    Status = OK
    StatusInfo = 3
    SystemCreationClassName = Win32_ComputerSystem
    SystemName = HAL9000
    Terminator =
    Tone = T
    + Bluetooth DUN Modem
    AttachedTo = COM12
    BlindOff = X3
    BlindOn = X1
    Caption = Bluetooth DUN Modem
    CompatibilityFlags = "01000000"
    ConfigManagerErrorCode = 0
    ConfigManagerUserConfig = FALSE
    ConfigurationDialog = modemui.dll
    CreationClassName = Win32_PotsModem
    + DCB
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
    194
    1
    0
    21
    32
    0
    0
    0
    + Default
    60
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Description = Bluetooth DUN Modem
    DeviceID = ROOT\MODEM\0001
    DeviceType = External Modem
    DriverDate = 8:00:00 AM 7/29/2004
    InactivityScale = "0a000000"
    Index = 1
    MaxBaudRateToSerialPort = 115200
    Model = Bluetooth DUN Modem
    ModemInfPath = oem14.inf
    ModemInfSection = Modemreg
    Name = Bluetooth DUN Modem
    PNPDeviceID = ROOT\MODEM\0001
    PortSubClass = "02"
    PowerManagementSupported = FALSE
    Prefix = AT
    + Properties
    0
    0
    0
    0
    255
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    7
    0
    0
    0
    ProviderName = IVT Corporation
    Pulse = P
    Reset = ATZ
    ResponsesKeyName = Bluetooth DUN Modem::IVT Corporation::IVT Corporation
    SpeakerModeDial = M1
    SpeakerModeOff = M0
    SpeakerModeOn = M2
    SpeakerVolumeHigh = L3
    SpeakerVolumeLow = L0
    SpeakerVolumeMed = L2
    Status = OK
    StatusInfo = 3
    SystemCreationClassName = Win32_ComputerSystem
    SystemName = HAL9000
    Terminator =
    Tone = T
    + Bluetooth LAP Modem
    AttachedTo = COM10
    Caption = Bluetooth LAP Modem
    ConfigManagerErrorCode = 0
    ConfigManagerUserConfig = FALSE
    ConfigurationDialog = modemui.dll
    CreationClassName = Win32_PotsModem
    + DCB
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
    194
    1
    0
    21
    32
    0
    0
    0
    + Default
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Description = Bluetooth LAP Modem
    DeviceID = ROOT\MODEM\0002
    DeviceType = Null Modem
    DriverDate = 8:00:00 AM 12/8/2004
    Index = 2
    MaxBaudRateToSerialPort = 115200
    Model = Bluetooth LAP Modem
    ModemInfPath = oem15.inf
    ModemInfSection = STDBTNUL
    Name = Bluetooth LAP Modem
    PNPDeviceID = ROOT\MODEM\0002
    PortSubClass = "02"
    PowerManagementSupported = FALSE
    + Properties
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    ProviderName = IVT Corporation
    ResponsesKeyName = Bluetooth LAP Modem::IVT Corporation::IVT Corporation
    Status = OK
    StatusInfo = 3
    SystemCreationClassName = Win32_ComputerSystem
    SystemName = HAL9000
    + Bluetooth LAP Modem
    AttachedTo = COM11
    Caption = Bluetooth LAP Modem
    ConfigManagerErrorCode = 0
    ConfigManagerUserConfig = FALSE
    ConfigurationDialog = modemui.dll
    CreationClassName = Win32_PotsModem
    + DCB
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
    194
    1
    0
    21
    32
    0
    0
    0
    + Default
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Description = Bluetooth LAP Modem
    DeviceID = ROOT\MODEM\0003
    DeviceType = Null Modem
    DriverDate = 8:00:00 AM 12/8/2004
    Index = 3
    MaxBaudRateToSerialPort = 115200
    Model = Bluetooth LAP Modem
    ModemInfPath = oem15.inf
    ModemInfSection = STDBTNUL
    Name = Bluetooth LAP Modem #2
    PNPDeviceID = ROOT\MODEM\0003
    PortSubClass = "02"
    PowerManagementSupported = FALSE
    + Properties
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    ProviderName = IVT Corporation
    ResponsesKeyName = Bluetooth LAP Modem::IVT Corporation::IVT Corporation
    Status = OK
    StatusInfo = 3
    SystemCreationClassName = Win32_ComputerSystem
    SystemName = HAL9000
    - Network Adapters


    FAILED
    - [00000008] Realtek RTL8102E Family PCI-E Fast Ethernet NIC (FAILED)
    Caption = [00000008] Realtek RTL8102E Family PCI-E Fast Ethernet NIC
    DatabasePath = %SystemRoot%\System32\drivers\etc
    - DefaultIPGateway = 192.168.212.212(Same Subnet) (FAILED)
    Pinging 192.168.212.212 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Ping statistics for 192.168.212.212:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss)
    DefaultTTL = 64
    Description = Realtek RTL8102E Family PCI-E Fast Ethernet NIC - Packet Scheduler Miniport
    DHCPEnabled = FALSE
    DNSEnabledForWINSResolution = FALSE
    DNSHostName = HAL9000
    - DNSServerSearchOrder = 192.168.212.212 (FAILED)
    Pinging 192.168.212.212 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Ping statistics for 192.168.212.212:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss)
    DomainDNSRegistrationEnabled = FALSE
    FullDNSRegistrationEnabled = TRUE
    GatewayCostMetric = 20
    Index = 8
    - IPAddress = 192.168.212.55 (PASSED)
    Pinging 192.168.212.55 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.212.55: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 192.168.212.55: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 192.168.212.55: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 192.168.212.55: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Ping statistics for 192.168.212.55:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss)
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
    IPConnectionMetric = 20
    IPEnabled = TRUE
    IPFilterSecurityEnabled = FALSE
    IPSecPermitIPProtocols = 0
    IPSecPermitTCPPorts = 0
    IPSecPermitUDPPorts = 0
    IPSubnet = 255.255.255.0
    IPXEnabled = FALSE
    MACAddress = 00:19:66:90:D7:33
    PMTUBHDetectEnabled = FALSE
    PMTUDiscoveryEnabled = TRUE
    ServiceName = RTLE8023xp
    SettingID = {30E9A29E-1153-4E93-A695-FEE5DAFC308C}
    TcpipNetbiosOptions = 0
    TcpMaxDataRetransmissions = 5
    TcpNumConnections = 100
    TcpWindowSize = 60352
    WINSEnableLMHostsLookup = TRUE
    - [00000014] RT73 USB Wireless LAN Card (FAILED)
    Caption = [00000014] RT73 USB Wireless LAN Card
    DatabasePath = %SystemRoot%\System32\drivers\etc
    + DefaultIPGateway = 192.168.212.212(Same Subnet) (FAILED)
    Pinging 192.168.212.212 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Ping statistics for 192.168.212.212:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss)
    DefaultTTL = 64
    Description = Realtek RTL8102E Family PCI-E Fast Ethernet NIC - Packet Scheduler Miniport
    DHCPEnabled = FALSE
    DNSEnabledForWINSResolution = FALSE
    DNSHostName = HAL9000
    + DNSServerSearchOrder = 192.168.212.212 (FAILED)
    Pinging 192.168.212.212 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Ping statistics for 192.168.212.212:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss)
    DomainDNSRegistrationEnabled = FALSE
    FullDNSRegistrationEnabled = TRUE
    GatewayCostMetric = 20
    Index = 14
    + IPAddress = 192.168.212.55 (PASSED)
    Pinging 192.168.212.55 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.212.55: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 192.168.212.55: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 192.168.212.55: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Reply from 192.168.212.55: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=0
    Ping statistics for 192.168.212.55:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss)
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
    IPConnectionMetric = 20
    IPEnabled = TRUE
    IPFilterSecurityEnabled = FALSE
    IPSecPermitIPProtocols = 0
    IPSecPermitTCPPorts = 0
    IPSecPermitUDPPorts = 0
    IPSubnet = 255.255.255.0
    IPXEnabled = FALSE
    MACAddress = 00:19:66:90:D7:33
    PMTUBHDetectEnabled = FALSE
    PMTUDiscoveryEnabled = TRUE
    ServiceName = rt73
    SettingID = {9DD1DE16-BC7A-452B-94A0-1113CE57EC58}
    TcpipNetbiosOptions = 0
    TcpMaxDataRetransmissions = 5
    TcpNumConnections = 100
    TcpWindowSize = 60352
    WINSEnableLMHostsLookup = TRUE
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.



    Let's see this after the restart.


    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. gazinbali

    gazinbali Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    ip reset.png

    View attachment cmdbox.txt

    Hi John.
    Nice to see a mod come on and helpout.
    ok i followed thru on your suggestions. but still not working
    attached is screenshot and txt file from cmd box.. i noticed when i right clicked i did not get the option to save.. it just spat out all the stuff you see.. I had to carefully select.. all went red.. then cut n paste.. since re entering my isp etc in the lan config settings ,i again enterdd config all and that is what you see in the screenshot.
    Hope u can figure it all out.. not sure the attaced png is in here??
    Thanks
    Gary
     
  4. gazinbali

    gazinbali Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Hijohn
    Looking forward to your next update.. cant do a lot without my windowz connex.
    Hope you can take a look soon
    Gazinbali :)
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Let's configure DHCP properly.


    Select Start > Settings > Network Connections.

    • Double-click the Connection icon of the connection you wish to modify to open the Connection Status window.
    • Click the Properties button to open the Connection Properties window.
    • Click to highlight Internet Protocol (TCP/IP).
    • Click the Properties button to open the Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) Properties window.
    • TCP/IP Properties window, IP Address tab
    • Select Obtain an IP address automatically.
    • Select Obtain DNS server address automatically.
    • Click OK to return to the Local Area Connection Properties window.
    • Click OK to return to the Network Connections window.
     
  6. gazinbali

    gazinbali Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Hi John
    Well its like this.. when I use my Linux Live CD, im still using the same computer, same Lan settings.. ie Ip addr. dns, etc. so I know they work.. but not in windows. This is how I access the net now to reply to your posts.

    Do you have any other suggestions.. could there be some file in windows thats corrupt, i have d/l the latest drivers.. they made no difference.
    sorry to give you a tough one
    Thanks
    Gary
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Let's try automatic addressing anyway. ;)
     
  8. gazinbali

    gazinbali Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Hi john
    I gave it a spin, but windows searched for about 10 mins and gave up, just leaving the connection icon in the tray with a ! sign and saying " has no or limited connection"
    Hoping u have something else we can try..
    Gary
     
  9. gazinbali

    gazinbali Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    I have had some virus problems of late and have deleted several including one which was identified as a backdoortrojan.. i dont know if that has any connection??
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Check that all your network services are Started:
    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).

    If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running. Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
     
  11. gazinbali

    gazinbali Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Hi john
    I went thru the list and did all.. I also ran major registry cleanup, and the prog also had a network optomising feature which I ran.. just in case.
    Bad news is .. its still dead.. works fine in Linux, but windowz.. not happening.
    I have attached screenshots for u to check. also the list I have commented in see txt file

    Hope you're not out of ideas yet:D
    Best regards

    Gary
     

    Attached Files:

  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If you have done the stack reset, that should have restored the stack if the virus damaged it.

    With a known good wired connection, please post this.


    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

    Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 74.125.45.100

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  13. gazinbali

    gazinbali Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    John
    plz see jpg.. for some reason cannot copy from cmd box
    DNS server? not sure if thats the same as gateway.. i have 2 numbers the same..
     

    Attached Files:

    • ping.JPG
      ping.JPG
      File size:
      91.3 KB
      Views:
      123
  14. gazinbali

    gazinbali Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Dear John

    here is the same pings via linux
    sorry.. i also did the yahoo and your isp pings om windows ..
    they failed. i lost the screenshot.
    Thanks
    Gary
     

    Attached Files:

  15. gazinbali

    gazinbali Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Oops forgot these..
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/898243

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice