Oblivion Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Amxiand

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
7
Hi, I just recentley bought the Oblivion game for PC and i installed it and tried to play. It sucked, my computer couldn't handle it, it was very choppy and froze every couple of minutes. Specs are: VideoCard- WinFast PX6200 TC, Processor- Pentium 4 3.00GHz , RAM- 1GB (previously 512MB, I've just upgraded) and I'm not too sure about the motherboard, but I know that it's deccent. The upgrade in RAM didn't really help too much, so I'm wondering about the video card. The game currently runs at about 10-15 FPS, which is horrible in my opinion. Any suggestions? Thanks - Oh also, it says I have 2 processors, I dunno what that means.
 

Amxiand

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
7
Oh, yes, I've also went to the website that checks the games requirments and your specs and it said my game was in the "recommended" zone, and it still runs like crap.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2005
Messages
2,291
First impressions are that it's your video card. Here are it's specs:
http://www.leadtek.com/3d_graphic/winfast_px6200_tctdh256_2.html

Even though you may meet the 'minimum' requirements, it's been my experience in the past that these are usually barely enough to run a game even at it's lowest settings. Oblivion is a pretty demanding game, too. It may be time to upgrade. 6200's are notorious for being pretty bad cards.
 

Amxiand

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
7
Thanks for the reply, anyway, all my hardware is recommended according to that site for the Oblivion game, not minimum, but yeah I've been thinking about upgrading my video card for a while now, but I'm not too sure what would be a deccent card. I'm not too worried about the price also. Any suggestions?
 

Amxiand

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
7
Well, my budget is about $300, but my Father has his own computer tech bussiness, so I can get hardware for significantly less then store prices . He obviously doesn't have much experience with games which is why I've posted here lol...
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2005
Messages
2,291
In that case, definitely get the BFG card. You won't regret it!

BTW - I know I didn't post any ATI cards, but quite frankly, I don't like them. ;) I much prefer nVidia products.
 

Amxiand

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
7
Yeah, Thank you for all your advice, Jones, I appreciate it, and I will definatley look into the BGF brand.
 

Amxiand

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
7
I too prefer nVidia, because that's the company my Father orders and trusts.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2005
Messages
2,291
I'm not sure what it is, but every ATI card I've bought or tried to setup has worked like garbage. nVidia cards just seem to work as soon as you plug them in. It's weird, because there are some people who live by ATI, and think nVidia stinks. To each their own, I suppose. ;)
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2006
Messages
21
Heehee.

I had an ATI mobile, and on lower resolutions (it was a crappy card, so I was rather forced into it) I could see other players through walls as a light fuzz.

But yeah. I need a new graphics card too, for Oblivion. The thing has very complicated shaders and graphical features. Its not so much the polygon count (though, that is still quite over the top), its the complex shadows and lighting that make your card work.
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
896
if the choppyness happens every FEW minutes then the problem may be something running that is slowing the game down

this is a tweak that you enagle before you game, then disabl if you want after you game (it increases all aspects of pc performance)
http://support.microsoft.com/?scid=kb;en-us;331796

for high settings in the game you need at least a geforce 6800

also the cards recomended before were PCIE cards does your computer use PCI express or AGP?

if agp then those cards will not work with your pc
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2002
Messages
3,974
runs ok on my system... It's set just under max detail and only get's choppy in a battle or large crowds..
My CPU isn't even using it's second level cache and it runs this game OK..

And like inuyasha said, disable background programs.. (not sure if you need to go the "clean boot" route though)
Most importantly is any anti-virus scanners.. If a file being use in game is also getting scanned it will slow way down..
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top