1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Odd Networking Problem?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Delta18, Feb 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Delta18

    Delta18 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Hi, recently me and my 2 flat mates had comcast cable installed and networked through our house at school. It worked great for a month, but now it just stops working for days. There is always a connection if you look at the network properties, but you cant get on internet explorer or aim or anything like that. Even when i cant get online with anything i can get on Limewire and download things.

    Comcast has replaced the gateway and put new wires into the house already. I dont know what else to do, everytime i call them they make me do they same thing. 2 of the computers are hardwired to the router and we have 1 wireless laptop. Does anyone know what might be causing this, we have to reset the modem for it to work and even then its not gauranteed how long it will work or even if it will come back up. Any help is greatly appreciated we have been dealing with this for about 2 weeks now. Thanks
     
  2. blin

    blin

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    272
    posting the result of the ipconfig /all may help.
     
  3. Delta18

    Delta18 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Justin>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : justin-3fartd6l
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : chn.comcast.net

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : chn.comcast.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon Gigabit Ethernet 10/10
    0/1000Base-T Adapter, Copper RJ-45
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-2F-62-BC-76
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.12
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 10, 2005 12:34:22
    PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 10, 2005 12:39:22
    PM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Justin>
     
  4. Monstrous Mi

    Monstrous Mi

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    623
    The DNS server address is odd.

    You probably should have <Obtain DNS Address Automatically> checked off in TCP/IP Properties.
     
  5. zxor38

    zxor38

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    140
    If all else fails the comcast modem had a rest feature built in just unplug for 3 minutes
    if all else fails after that go ionto explorer and reset the web page or go to properties
    then to programs the reset is at or near the bottom on the left
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Actually, the DNS server is pointing to the broadband router, just as it should in this case.

    The fact that you have to reset and then it works for a time points to a problem with the router, modem, or ISP. I'd suspect marginal signal strength since the equipment has been replaced. Perhaps the problem is farther down the line. I had a problem with Comcast for weeks, they finally replaced a gateway about 1/2 mile from me and fixed it. I'd drop out all the time, it was REALLY annoying!
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/328867

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice