Odd networking problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sorrow

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
92
I'm have strange problems with the d-link's wireless connection. Packet loss is relatively low, but when connected (ethernet or wireless) to the d-link router, web sites frequently load very slowly, often requiring reloading to bring up the whole page.

Actiontech GT701 DSL Modem >> 192.168.0.1
d-link 624s Wireless Super-G router >> 192.168.23.1
3 (windows XP ) wireless computers.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,847
Is there the same slowness when only one computer is being used?

What about the wireless adapters--do they all match the "Super-G" router? Any of them a 'b' that can slow the entire network?

Have you checked to make sure you do not have some kind of wireless interference, such as another network on the same or close channel or a 2.4Ghz cordless phone?
 

sorrow

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
92
So far i have not had any of the other computers connected to the network. Also, all of the computers in the house have 802.11g, and i do not have the "Super-G" option even turned on at this point.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,847
So this is with one PC only? What are the brand and model of the PC and the wireless adapter?

Do you have the same problem with a computer connected directly to the Actiontec?
 

sorrow

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
92
The computer i'm using is a kind of old dell.. P4, 2.66ghz, 640mb ram. The NIC is a "Dell Truemobile 1300", aka a broadcom 4400 (or something similar to that).

When i'm connected directly to the actiontech (as i am now) there is no problems. When i'm hardwired into the d-link, the problem still occurs, but is not as prominent. I also have no problems with wireless when i'm using hotspots.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,847
I suggest that you note your router settings, reset it to factory default settings (hold reset button for 10 seconds or so) and then reconfigure it. Sometimes this is enough to "refresh" a balky router.

Secondly, look for a firmware update.

Thirdly, look for a replacement. :(
 

sorrow

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
92
TerryNet said:
I suggest that you note your router settings, reset it to factory default settings (hold reset button for 10 seconds or so) and then reconfigure it. Sometimes this is enough to "refresh" a balky router.

Secondly, look for a firmware update.

Thirdly, look for a replacement. :(
(n) Yeah, i actually just got this one through a RMA. The last one was doing the same thing, and there are no firmware updates available. At one point or another, i have changed almost every setting on it and the actiontech.

The situation works OK for me, because i can plug right into the modem and get internet that way.. but my flat mates can't, so i'm going to keep qwest for the rest of the month, pay it myself, and move out. They are talking about picking up comcast anyways, so whatever. Too bad this router such a waste though! :mad:

Thanks for the help either way :cool:

Edit: should i change this to solved, or hope that someone with unheard of networking skills has a idea?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,847
Sorry we couldn't come up with anything. I'd leave it open (unsolved).
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top