1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Odd problem with Acer monitor

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Riverglen, Dec 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Riverglen

Riverglen Thread Starter

First Name:
    Larry
    I have a 19" Acer monitor that I've been using for several years. Several months ago, I started having problems getting the thing to power up, or so I thought. Didn't happen very often and I just fiddled around a bit to get it going. But lately the I've had about a 50-50 chance of getting having the problem occur.

Both the monitor and the computer tower are powered through a UPS. My normal procedure has always been to shut the computer down, and when the shut-down completes, to shut off the UPS to remove power from the computer and the monitor. I don't normally touch the monitor power button.

When I bring up the machine I turn the UPS back on which normally would power the monitor back up, and then turn on and boot the computer. When the monitor fails to come up normally I noticed that the pilot light in the power switch comes on green (normal running state), then if I wait a bit it reverts to orange (standby), but then it unexpectedly goes out altogether. If I start the computer quickly enough, I don't see the standby state and the monitor just shuts down. When the problem happens, the monitor will not power up by toggling its power button. But if I unplug the thing from the UPS (or for that matter from the wall, which I've already tried) it will come up normally, and everything is fine. And once running, it has never once has there been any further trouble. I've tried plugging the monitor directly into the wall and turning it on and off manually, but on at least one occasion that didn't prevent the problem from occurring.