OE 6 sending problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

papat

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2005
Messages
218
All of a sudden,I can no longer send my email, but can receive them. I have a backup system upstairs which is also experiencing the same problem. I am getting this error code: 0x800ccc0e. I have no problem connecting on Comcast. Thanks Papat
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
Comcast seems to be having numerous problems with their outgoing mail servers. The first three things to do are to call Comcast (it will take at least that many calls to get a straight answer). Then wait for things to start working. In the meantime use their web mail.

If you think this is not a Comcast problem, give a full description of the error(s) so that maybe somebody here can help.
 

papat

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2005
Messages
218
Checked with Comcast, and she had me change the port setting from 25 to 587, but that didn't work. She also posted instructions how to check that port to see if it is blocked, and it seems to be? I've Googled info but can't seem to come up with an answer. I have never had this problem before, but could the port be blocked somehow? I'm not sure how all this works. Thanks Papat
 
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
11,849
If you are having the same problem with two different computers then is is one of three things.

A wrong setting in both computers (Not likely but possible)

A problem with the router

A problem with your ISP (Comcast) Most likely and changing the port from 25 to 587 is not the fix. If you have to change it then what about everybody else on Comcast?

The first suggestion of call Comcast is the right one but apparently they do not want to be truthful about the problem being theirs, I would suggest calling and talking to a supervisor and go from there.
 

papat

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2005
Messages
218
"A problem with the router." I guess if it was the router, I would have problems getting online and also with my VOIP phone. I probably have no other choice but to call and suffer through tech support from who knows where.Thanks Keith
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
I don't really have anything against Comcast, but their tech support seems to be struggling. "Your port is blocked" and "change your port" seem to be two common ways to get you to hang up. Change the port back to 25, and while on hold again to discuss the issue with another Comcast rep enjoy this thread: http://forums.techguy.org/web-email/696298-solved-oe-can-t-send.html

As soon as somebody says "port" or "blocked" ask for a supervisor or a tier 2 person. :)

Just for my curiousity, in what region of the country are you?
 

papat

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2005
Messages
218
Thanks. I'm from NH and awaiting another 4"-8" of SNOW tonight.UGH. LOL
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
Good luck with the snow and Comcast. That thread I linked to is from Washington (state) and a friend of mine here in the midwest got that port blocking excuse among others.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top