OE does not exit correctly

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

knowslittle

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 27, 2003
Messages
107
Long explanation; please bear with me. I have dial-up modem, using WinXP Pro, Outlook Express 6.0. I leave the computer on all the time. Each day when I go online for the first time and click for OE to open, I get a message that OE cannot start because another instance of it is still running, and I should log off Windows and if this doesn't work, I need to reboot. I always reboot (the reason will be addressed in another thread) and then when I go online and click OE, it always comes up. But then there is a message saying that OE did not shutdown correctly the last time I ran it--that it did not exit correctly. My procedure is that when I am online, I run OE minimized so I can get messages. When I'm ready to go offline, I maximize OE and then click the X in the upper-right corner to close OE, then I go offline. Can you help? Thanks.
Oh, My Goodness, I just realized I did not update my signature. Sorry. It's WinXP Pro and Compaq EN series computer.
 
Joined
May 25, 2004
Messages
1,243
only time i ever had that prob was with dial-up & i'd leave oe open, then close it inadvertantly while a message was being downloaded. oe would not reopen until i rebooted. personally, i'd close oe every time u finish reading ur emails! :)
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
Hi knowslittle

When Outlook Express is running, open Task Manager, look on the Processes tab, are there two instances of msimn.exe running?

Conversely, if you open Task Manager before you open Outlook Express, does it show msimn.exe running?

_________________________________________________________________

Check this setting in Outlook Express:
Tools > Options > Maintenance tab,
if there, remove the checkmark for Compact messages in the background
this is a default setting that can cause corruption in your .dbx files.

If you have more than one Identity, check each Identity to ensure this process has been disabled.
_________________________________________________________________

In Outlook Express,
Tools > Options > Connection tab
Remove any checkmarks there.
Apply, OK to save and close.

Tools > Accounts > (account name) > Properties > Connection tab,
If there, remove the checkmark for Always connect to this account using:
Apply, OK to save and close.
_________________________________________________________________


On the Tools > Options > General tab
Do you have Outlook Express set up to check for messages every XX minutes?
If so, what option is selected for:
If my computer is not connected at this time:

Let us know.
 

knowslittle

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 27, 2003
Messages
107
Cowboy: Thanks for the advice.
EAFiedler: I checked all the things you noted, and found nothing to change. On your last item, I have OE set to check for new mail every 3 minutes and have "Do Not Connect" as the option under "If my computer is not connected at this time:"
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
What about the processes in Task Manager do you show more than one instance of msimn.exe running?
 

knowslittle

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 27, 2003
Messages
107
Sorry--I thought I had covered that. No, just one instance of msimn.exe running when OE is open, and no instances when OE is not open.
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
That is odd, your getting a message saying there is another instance already running and yet it does not show in the Task Manager processes...

Start > Run
key in:
msconfig

Look on the Startup tab
msimn.exe is not listed for a startup item, is it?

Check your Startup folder also,
Start > Programs > Startup

Do you have a Pay Pal plug-in for Outlook Express?

Do you have McAfee anti-virus scanner?
 

knowslittle

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 27, 2003
Messages
107
msimn.exe is not listed in the start-up menu or in the start-up folder. I don't have PayPal and I don't use McAfee. However, I do use Avast 4 Home Edition anti-virus program which starts anytime I reboot.
 

knowslittle

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 27, 2003
Messages
107
FYI: Lately, I have been leaving OE open (and not minimized) while online. When I'm ready to go offline, I first close OE, then I go offline. A few minutes ago, I rebooted, then I went online and went to OE, and it came up just fine. Does all this mean anything to you? P.S.: Thanks for all your attempts to figure this out.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top