1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

OE6 Not Sending Big Files

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Wannano, Jan 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Wannano

    Wannano Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    When I attempt to send an mpg movie to friends, just one of those short funny ones that you receive from others, or something of that size, I get this pop-up error message: Your SMTP server has not responded in 60 seconds. Would you like to wait another 60 seconds for the server to respond? The email then sits in the outbox and never leaves. I can only mail text messages. Why won't the mail send? Thanks!
     
  2. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
    Do you have email scanning of outgoing mail? If you do, turn that off. Your ISP may have a limit on size that you can send.
     
  3. Wannano

    Wannano Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    I have email scanning off. And I could always send the mpg files with no problem up until about two weeks ago.
     
  4. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,886
    First Name:
    Jay
    I'd call the ISP ..
    Ask them when they're going to fix it ...
    And how soon do you get your two week loss of usage refund.

    Sounds like we have the same ISP.
    Mine won't let me email myself .. to/from any of my 6 accounts ... they're stumped.
     
  5. bobkatbf

    bobkatbf

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    193
    I have email sending problems with sbcglobal.net or AT&T or Yahoo or whatever their current name is.
     
  6. Wannano

    Wannano Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    I went over the issue with Comcast this morning. They couldn't figure out the problem. One thing's for certain: It's okay when sending through webmail, but not through OE.
     
  7. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,886
    First Name:
    Jay
    My Insight ISP can't figure out why I can't Email myself either.
    It seems to Come n Go .. I'm thinking it depends on which of their servers I connect to.
    WebMail works ... and I (usually) can Email myself ... If the Email contains a lot of text.
    Now .. Figure that out .. They can't.

    Did you talk about a lack of service refund ?? ... Money can get Noisy.
     
  8. Wannano

    Wannano Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    178

    They just said that since the webmail works, OE is not their concern.
     
  9. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,886
    First Name:
    Jay
    If I understand the Problem ..
    I'd find a buddy on the same ISP .. and have them add your Email account.
    Or use one of my spare computers .. and see if it would work.
    Then you'd know if it's your computer .. or the ISP's.

    Working with a good OE ... IS their problem.
     
  10. Molucky

    Molucky

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    Contact microsoft to see what they say? what size is the video file that your trying to send
     
  11. Wannano

    Wannano Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    The file is only 3.3 megs. I'd contact Microsoft, but it costs.
     
  12. djs6673

    djs6673

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Wannano
    I am having a similar problem Outlook express. Ever since I down loaded and installed McAfee security center from comcast 2 weeks ago I can't not send any .wmv files over 1 meg without it hanging in scanning till the server times out. I can send other file types just fine. I have tried turning off out going email scanning. but it will not turn off. Tried to turn off all Email scanning, Will not turn off. Still get the icon with flashing envelope.

    Do you have Mcafee?

    I have posted on the McAfee help forums. Had one reply in a week and half. They are ignoring me? I see many post with the same and similar problems. Most are being ignored.
    If I find anything out I will let you know. But shortly without any help I going to Uninstall forever and try AVG or something more responsible.
    djs6673
     
  13. Wannano

    Wannano Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    djs - Yes. I use McAfee for Comcast. I figured McAfee was the problem, yet I wasn't sure, and even Comcast couldn't help. I may uninstall it as well. Keep me informed if you hear anything. Thanks!
     
  14. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,886
    First Name:
    Jay
    I think I remember reading somewhere that IE7 and McCaffee doesn't work.
    Do you have IE7 ???

    Don't know if this would bother OE
     
  15. Wannano

    Wannano Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    Yup. I'm using IE7 as well.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/537694

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice