1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Off-grid recharging power for Dell Inspiron laptop?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bj nick, Sep 6, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bj nick

bj nick Thread Starter

Hi, I have a newer Dell Inspiron laptop.....I like to go off-road for 2-3 days at a time, and I need my laptop to use during that time (I'm a writer.) You can't switch out batteries on it....so I'm wondering the best option for recharging it a few times. I can always charge it off the car battery w/my ac/dc converter, but I hesitate to run the car at idle for 1-2 hours. What's the best option? I'm assuming it will be a powerful portable charger?

2. managed

managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

First Name:
    Allan
    Do you have to run the engine for the ac/dc converter to work ?

Also there are chargers that plug into a car cigarette lighter socket which could work without running the engine.

3. cwwozniak

cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

First Name:
    Chuck
    Would a small gasoline-powered generator work for you? There are portable "tailgating" generators available for about $150 with a few hundreds of watts outputs. You do have to deal with mixing gas and oil for the 2-stroke engines and they are a bit noisy. If the noise is a problem and depending on your location, a couple of one hundred foot extension cords could solve it.

https://www.harborfreight.com/900-m...63cc-2-cycle-gas-generator-epacarb-63025.html

4. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2018
  5. plodr

plodr

First Name:
    Liz
    I have an earlier version of this (mine is 71486 and this is 71686)
    https://www.acehardware.com/departm...er-cables/automotive-battery-chargers/8292831