Office 2000 errors (it wasn't fixed after all)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

scootertiki

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
38
Hi, I had the same VB errors popping up in Word 2000, I changed the name of my normal.dot, and deleted any files in the start up folder. Once I did that my word program worked fine and does not have any error messages upon startup. However, when I run my Winfax pro and attatch a word doc, it takes a really long time, and the .dll error message below comes up several times, and it just stalls, it opens a wierd word window, but cannot go any further with it. Now I am getting, (I did receive this error message before as well,) "OLEAUT32.DLL is out of date. This requires a newer version." I am getting this message in Access now. I have uninstalled and reinstalled Office 2000 twice, and the error still remains. The VB error message that was accompaning the .dll error is not there now. What is going on?

I am at my wits end! Please help!

Liz
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Maybe you require a newer version of the dll... :D

Do a search for Oleaut32.dll, rightclick it when you find it, choose 'properties/version' and tell us what it says.
You'll probably find a more recent version in your IE installation cabs, if you've ever upgraded IE and held on to the installation cabs.
 

scootertiki

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
38
Ok, I did a search and two icons came up. They both say the same thing, oleaut32.dll. The two version numbers are: 2.20.4054.1 and 2.40.4512.1.

I am a little confused about the cabs? And are you talking about Internet Explorer? Sorry a newbie at some of this stuff.

Thanks,
Liz
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Could you tell me in what folder each of the two are located?
 

scootertiki

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
38
Tony,

Ok the first one, version 2.20.4054.1 is in C:\WINDOWS\System32

The second one, version 2.40.4512.1 is in C:\WINDOWS\System32\dllcache

Hope this helps
Liz
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi Liz,

The second one is the most recent one, so what you should do is rename the one in C\Windows\System to Oleaut32.old, and copy the more recent one that's located in C:\WINDOWS\System32\dllcache to CWindows System.

You can't do this with Windows running however, as the one in C:\Windows \System will be in use, and won't let you rename it.

I see you're running Windows XP (I presume), and I'm running Win98 SE myself, so I can offer only limited assistance.

Try going to Start/Run, and type Msconfig.
Click the General tab, and then click Expand File .

Try restoring Oleaut32.dll from C:\WINDOWS\System32\dllcache to C:\Windows\System32.

Theoretically, this should work, but maybe someone who's running XP as well could be of more help.

Good luck,
 

scootertiki

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
38
Tony

You were right about it not letting me change the file because Windows was using it. When I went to start-run, and typed msconfig, it gave me an error message saying that it cant find the file msconfig, to make sure that the file path is right. So I am not sure where to go with this one. Is this a common problem?

THanks anyway,
Liz
 

scootertiki

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
38
Help! Help! I don't know what to do. This error was not that bad when it was in word, you could still use word. But now in Access it will not let me do anything. THe OLEAUT32.dll error comes up and then it says that features are not installed, (which they are, I have re-installed office twice!)

This is the new error message in Access: "Microsoft access cant find the wizard, or there is a syntax error in the declarations section of a visual basic module. The wizard you need may be missing from the libraries key of the microsoft access section of the windows registry. to make sure that the wizard is in the windows registry, run setup to reinstall microsoft access, and then compile all visual basic modules in the database."
:confused:

Please help, I have to use this program. What should I do.

Liz
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Try this:

Start Windows up in Safe Mode: How to start Windows XP in Safe Mode

Now go to C:\Windows\system, and rename Oleaut32.dll to Oleaut32.old (just rightclick the file, choose Rename, and change the extension to 'old'.)

In Safe Mode, Windows will let you.

Now copy the Oleaut32.dll in C:\WINDOWS\System32\dllcache, which is the most recent of the two, to C:\Windows\System.

As you've renamed the one that's there, it won't be overwritten.

See if that corrects your problem.

Good luck,
 

scootertiki

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
38
Tony,

Ok I tried to do what you said with the safe mode. In safe mode it told me that I could not rename that file because it was in use. I found some other tips surfing the web. Here is what I have tried.
1. Detect and Repair in the Access program. Didnt fix it.
2. Repair and Re-install Microsoft Office. Didn't fix it.
3. I copied the oleaut32.dll from the system folder on the Office 2000 disks, then pasted that file into c:\ I restarted my PC in Ms-dos mode, I typed in: copy c:\oleaut32.dll c:\windows\system\oleaut32.dll
I hit enter, and it said that the file had been copied. Then I restarted in normal mode and ran office setup, repair, then reinstall office.
Didn't fix it!

There is a service pack for windows 2000 on the Microsoft website, is that worth downloading or could it possibly mess me up even more. I guess I need to hire a tech to come fix it.

If you have any other ideas, I would love to hear them!!!!!!!
Thanks,
Liz:rolleyes:
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2000
Messages
941
Hi, if I may jump in here: Yes, if you are running win2k, you should absolutely install Service Pack 2. That may well resolve your problem.

If it does not, I would recommend uninstalling Office 2000, then using Eraser 2000 to completely get rid of remaining traces, before trying to reinstall again.

And get SR-1 and SP-2 for Office, as well (see the complete catalogue here.)

A tech would probably do the same thing, then charge you $100. Shouldn't be any need for that.
 

scootertiki

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
38
Finally I have solved this mistery!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Before I read the last post, I mistakenly fell upon the service pack website. Downloaded the SP2, and voila, no more problems! Thank you everyone for helping me!

Thanks again!
Liz
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top