1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Office 2010 Academic and Windows 8

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by ohmemy, Jan 22, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ohmemy

    ohmemy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    I attempted to install Microsoft Office 2010 Academic version from an external drive. I put in the product key, it loaded (installed?), then I restarted per instruction. When it rebooted, it locked the keyboard and I couldn't get past the startscreen to sign in. Now, it's froze. I tried removing the battery and reinserting it and hitting F2, but it would not go to the setup screen. Help.

    I am not currently using the computer with the problem.

    OHMEMY
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,858
    Where did you get this "Academic version"?

    The provider of the Academic version is to provide all support to you on this copy of Office.
     
  3. ohmemy

    ohmemy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    DaveA,

    I'm sorry it took so long to get back to you.

    I got the copy of Office Academic from a textbook for one of my courses at college.

    ohmemy
     
  4. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,858
    Then contact the provider of this textbook and see what they have to say.

    Most of these are to be installed on only one machine.

    This copy that that you used, did you copy it from the CD that was with the textbook?
    If so, then you may need to use the CD this time also.
     
  5. ohmemy

    ohmemy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    DaveA

    The textbook is actually the Office 2010 manual "New Perspectives" and is published by Cengage. I didn't copy the CD. It came with the text. (as a 180 day "trial". This is the same way that I got Quickbooks that I am using for school. I have installed it (and Office 2010) on my computer using XP Pro and have had no problems. It seems to me that the problem is getting to the sign in page after the reboot. If the program locked the keyboard, I can't do this.

    ohmemy
     
  6. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,858
    Looks like to me that it is one machine install.

    What did you use to install it on the XP machine?

    I think you need to contact "Cengage" and see what they can do for you, as they are the license issuing agent!
     
  7. ohmemy

    ohmemy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    My Laptop is a Dell with XP Pro. I got a Student deal at the Daytona State website and installed it online rather than from a CD.

    I will contact Cengage and also the school help desk to see what they can offer.

    I have asked a local person who has moderate knowledge of computers and they were stumped.

    Is it possible that they program downloaded to my Temporary folder and locked the keyboard and touchpad after the reboot to prevent interfering with the installation? If so, is there any way around that. It is stuck on the start page (before the sign in page and the cursor does not load. I tried hooking in a mouse to no avail. I thought also of hooking in an external keyboard. I haven't tried shortcut keys yet, either.

    ohmemy
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,586
    I think that whether or not the Office is a legit install for this system has nothing to do with the current problem. No install is going to lock the keyboard unless it is horribly corrupted or contains sadistic malware.

    If I understand your first post you now cannot even enter the BIOS (Setup) by tapping the F2 on power on. I can only assume that F2 is the proper key for your PC. If you are not positive of that try F8, which should get you to a Windows boot menu. If you are using the laptop's keyboard or a wireless one try a USB one. If using a USB keyboard try a different one or try the keyboard on a different computer.

    EDIT: forgot this was Windows 8. Instead of F8 may need to use Shift + F8.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1086458