1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Office 97 vs IE 5.5 SP2

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by versatile, Dec 26, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. versatile

    versatile Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    Has anyone else had issues with using Office 97 and IE 5.5 SP2 on a Windows 95c box? I've noticed that after upgrading a PC to IE 5.5 SP2 on a Windows 95c box, you cannot add or remove any additional features to Office 97. When you try to Add/Remove features it gives you an error stating "Your previous installation was not complete.” The only way I have found around this is rebuilding the system. You cannot uninstall Office 97 or install it to/from a different location. I was wondering if there was a way around this or a possible fix anyone knows of. It is becoming a pain having to rebuild a complete system when a user needs one small Add-on installed. Thanks!
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,977
  3. versatile

    versatile Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    That is actually a different error message. This one doesn't tell you to restart your machine, it just exits the application. Thanks for the links though, I will try some of the options listed. If not, I guess I can contact M$, but I don't think they support 95 anymore.:mad:
     
  4. versatile

    versatile Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    Renaming the wininit.ini file didn't work. It creates a new one and still gives me the same error. The exact error message reads: "Microsoft Office 97 setup was not complete successfully". I tried searching M$' knowledge base without any luck. I will try to contact M$, and if I get a response I will post it here. Until then, any additional information would be appreciated!!
     
  5. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,977
  6. versatile

    versatile Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    No luck with that either... After doing some testing I noticed that even if you have never installed Office 97 on a Win95c box, and it has already been updated to IE 5.5 SP2, then you cannot install Office 97. IE 5.5 SP2 is doing something to the OS that makes it so you cannot install Office 97. I would upgrade to IE 6, but it does not work on Windows 95.
     
  7. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,977
    Hiya

    We have just recently found out that there is a program packaged inside the updates at Microsoft that is labelled Spyware. The software I'm on about is Alexa. The thread is here:

    http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?threadid=62651

    Now, could that be causing something to not load properly with Office 97? Just a thought.

    Anyway, lets see if it may. Go here and download AddAware www.lavasoftusa.org
    Install and run it, ensuring that Deep registry Scan is enabled. remove all except any references to Web3000 or new.net. If you're unsure, copy/paste the list here.

    Also, get RefUpdate from there, install and run it to get the latest updates.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  8. versatile

    versatile Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks for the idea, it was a good one. After running the Ad-Aware scan it only found 3 files, which all looked like they were cookies from doubleclick. After removing those it still gave me the same error. I think there is a compatibility issue with MS no longer supporting Windows 95. Thanks again!
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62994

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice