1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Office install

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by NoEight, Apr 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. NoEight

    NoEight Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Trying to install office 2007 but all I get is WW\OSETUP.DLL cannot be loaded. Please reply in simple terms as I am not technical at all :confused:
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,493
    There are three reasons for this
    1. Carefully, clean the surface of the installation DVD. It needs this file to even start.
    2. It could be the drive itself needs a Cleaning disc.
    3. Have you checked the region, do other DVD`s play OK
    My computer, right click the drive, click Properties and check that you are in the Region for your country.. Region 2. if UK.
    4. If none of those work, try copying the DVD to your hard drive in a New folder, if you are not sure how to do this come back and I will guide you and then install from the copy.
    Try 1 & 3 first and if you have a DVD cleaning disc try 2.
    If that does not work we will go to 4, if it copies it will install.
     
  3. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,493
    INSTEAD OF FOUR IN THE FIRST POST, COPY TO HHD, TRY THIS IT MAYBE SOMETHING ELSE IS STOPPING THE INSTALL

    Click Start
    In the little window at the bottom that has the words “Start Search”, type msconfig & Press enter
    In MS Config,
    Under the “General” Tab,
    Click the “Selective Startup” button.
    This should make two check boxes available to be changed.
    Leave the “Load SystemServices” Check box checked.
    Then clear “Load StartUp Items” checkbox.
    Now select the “Services” Tab
    Click the “Hide All Microsoft Services” Check box at the bottom left.
    Click the “Disable all” button at the bottom right.
    Click “Apply”
    Click “OK”
    Observe the message that pops up titled “System Configuration”
    You may need to restart your computer to apply these changes.....
    Click the “Restart” Button.

    Computer Restarts
    Put the Office DVD in the drive.
    Do the install including entering the product key.
    After Office 2007 has been installed
    Click Start
    Enter msconfig and press Enter.
    In the “General” tab, click the “Normal Startup” radio button.
    Click “Apply”
    Click “OK”
    Observe the message that pops up titled “System Configuration”
    You may need to restart your computer to apply these changes.....
    Click the “Restart” Button.
    Computer Restarts
    All good
     
  4. NoEight

    NoEight Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Hi
    Thanks for replying; I've completed steps 1 & 3 to no avail. I've tried number 4 but all my searches come back with "msconfig not found" !?:mad:
     
  5. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,493
    Click Start
    Click Run and type msconfig in Run
     
  6. NoEight

    NoEight Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Hi
    sorry for taking so long but with work and kids... well.
    As for solution 4 I can get as far loading office but I get the same message when trying to start the setup. Just a point on solution 4 when I select selective start up I have 4 checked boxes 1, process SYSTEM.INI file 2. process WIN.INI.file 3 and 4 are as you have stated but also with a option on the bottom stating "orginal BOOT.INI

    Might some of these selection stop it from working?

    Many thanks for your help so far
     
  7. Miggs

    Miggs

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    150
    Was wondering if you have admin rights on this machine ?
     
  8. Miggs

    Miggs

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    150
    And this machine is Windows XP ?
     
  9. NoEight

    NoEight Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    yes on both accounts
     
  10. Miggs

    Miggs

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    150
    See if there is an availible firmware upgrade for your DVD drive.
     
  11. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,493
    The instructions I pasted had a line missing, I apologise, please follow this.

    Step 1: Start the System Configuration Utility

    1. Click Start, click Run, type msconfig, and then click OK.
    2. The System Configuration Utility dialog box is displayed.
    Step 2: Configure selective startup options

    1. In the System Configuration Utility dialog box, click the General tab, and then click Selective Startup.
    2. Click to clear the Process SYSTEM.INI File check box.
    3. Click to clear the Process WIN.INI File check box.
    4. Click to clear the Load Startup Items check box. Verify that Load System Services and Use Original BOOT.INI are checked.
    5. Click the Services tab.
    6. Click to select the Hide All Microsoft Services check box.
    7. Click Disable All, and then click OK.
    8. When you are prompted, click Restart to restart the computer.
    Step 3: Log on to Windows

    1. If you are prompted, log on to Windows.
    2. When you receive the following message, click to select the Don't show this message or launch the System Configuration Utility when Windows start check box, and then click OK.
    Now try the Office install
     
  12. Miggs

    Miggs

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    150
    Couple of questions.
    Is this a genuine disc, brand new, out of the box disc or a copy ?
    When it trys to install does it get to the screen where it asks for the license key ?
    Can you pop it into another machine to see if it gets to the license screen ?
    Can you login as a different user to see if it installs ?
     
  13. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,493
    Obviously it does not get as far as the Product Key, as per his first post.
    NoEight
    Which edition of Office 2007 please.
     
  14. Miggs

    Miggs

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    150
    Hey mAcboatmaster, why do you have to be so RUDE !!!!!
    I'm just trying to help out this guy.
     
  15. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    Macboatmaster, If you look at the Computer Specifications for NoEight you will see the version of Office the poster is trying to install.

    I think Miggs asked a very good question
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Office install
  1. dragster1981
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,373
  2. howard.a.s
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    746
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/917115

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice