1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Office Networking - Advice & Planning

Discussion in 'Networking' started by buddhantraining, Jul 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. buddhantraining

    buddhantraining Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Hey Gang!

    This post might be a bit on the long side but please bear with me. I thank you in advance for your advice and replies, it's greatly appreciated.

    Here's the deal. A local kennel wants to get their office computerized. Currently they're doing everything on paper and it's just becoming overwhelming for them. They've appointed me the task of handling the job and maintaining their systems, and...well...I have no idea which direction to go with their setup. I've never networked in a business location before and never had to network more than three systems.

    They have a large U shaped front desk where they will need three computers. The employee in charge of bookeeping/finance will also need a computer - her office is sort've behind the front desk in a cubby hole kind of thing. I plan to custom build all computer systems. All four computers will be running a boarding program called Kennel Connection (www.kennelconnection.com) - but only the finance office PC will also need Quickbooks. However, all four computers will need access to a central database where the QB and KC files will be stored. They'll also be sharing a printer. I'm not too sure what else they'll be sharing but I imagine maybe a fax at the most. It would be nice to set up remote access so I could offer them support off-site but it's not mandatory. I'd like to avoid using a server; I've just never worked with them before and would hate to get involved in something I'm not sure if I could handle. I'm also not too sure if a server is REALLY needed for only two programs and a relatively small office setup. I'd prefer to just build a workstation in place of a server.

    I also don't know what would be more beneficial in such a small office space - wired or wireless neworking?

    With that said, how would you networking gurus plan out this project? What sort of things should I be taking into consideration, what things do I need to find out before taking the first steps? What system specs would you recommend for this project?

    Really, any advice or suggestions would be helpful. Feel free to ask any questions if I didn't explain things well enough. I've never tackled this sort of project before so want to get as much planning and advice as I can before I get started.

    Thanks guys!
     
  2. onsite

    onsite

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    605
    first if you want more than one person at a time to acces quickbooks, like across a network
    you have to get their network version or lisence. You have to also find out about the kenel program. A peer to peer should be good, no server really needed. Just take one of the PCs and put a lot of ram in, big HD store all you files there, use mapping. Get a router with SPI and NAT. Use DHCP of the router. Get a UPS for the file server. If no internet you will not need a router. You can use a hub and static ip, do NOT use a hub if internet
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I wouldn't use a hub with or without the Internet, since a switch is a better choice.
     
  4. Torquin

    Torquin

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    I too would recommend a beefed up workstation for the 'server.' Depending on the type of workload the network will need to carry and the size of the place it seems like wireless would be a fine option for you. Also as to remote management I would recommend "Remote Admin" (RAdmin) for that, it allows many options (screen looking, telnet, file transfer, screen control) all over a network or the internet with good security as well. You can find it at http://www.radmin.com/ good luck!
     
  5. onsite

    onsite

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    605
    Using a hub with a broadband connection is sooo wrong on so many different levels. First a hub is just a rebroadcaster, there is no NAT so asumming you have the garden variety of cable or dsl, the first w/s to go on the internet will grab the one ip from your ISP. Second a HUB does not have SPI either( also firewalls, VPNs access logs..etc). Third as cheap as routers are now, it would be a real mistake to get a hub that is only a few dollars less
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/487620

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice