1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Office Suite needed for Windows 8

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Martjean2, Jul 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Martjean2

Martjean2 Thread Starter

Hello,
    I need a little help. I just purchased a HP Envy with Windows 8. I will need to have a Office Suite.
    What do you recommend I do?
    Thanks for your help.

2. grandma77

grandma77

I just installed Open Office on our new HP Envy with windows 8. It is working fine and Open office said it is compatible with Microsoft office, but Open Office is free. This is my first time to try it but I have had friends that have used it for a while and love it.

3. UserSupport_Pro

UserSupport_Pro

4. davehc

davehc Retired Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    David
    There is a major difference between the two. OO is no longer supported. There was some managerial upsets when they were taken over. Libre Office took over the task of maintain its original free formula, and continue to support it. I believe that, very recently, they have published a major update.

But one I did investigate, for enquiring clients, was Kingston. I was impressed by its ease of installation and use.

http://www.kingsoftstore.com/kingsoft-office-freeware.html

5. grandma77

grandma77

Platforms Supported
    The following platforms continue to be available as official releases from Apache OpenOffice: Microsoft Windows, MacOS (Intel), Linux (32 bit), Linux (64 bit).
    Additionally, a number of community members are working on ports for Solaris, FreeBSD, and OS/2 and live/portable versions. You can learn more from our Ports and Distributions page at: http://www.openoffice.org/porting/ .

General Remarks